Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and remove the pop-up ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo
- - - - -

HDTV Programming problem

• You cannot start a new topic
  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 of 11 OFFLINE   Bill Griffith

Bill Griffith

Supporting Actor

• 581 posts

Posted March 24 2003 - 12:11 AM

I'm new to the HD Cable side of things so I'm wondering what this is all about. I have acces to only 9 HD channels, 5 local and 4 movie (2 Sho and 2 HBO). I was watching the news before the oscars last night trying to get my picture as good as possible on the HD channel. They were showing some news stuff and I noticed the picture wasn't fitting on my screen. I have never seen this problem before. I tried all four video modes my TV does and nothing. I don't believe its a matter of positioning iether since I was losing picture on the bottom and on the top and on the sides. I also noticed it was only with some shows as the commercials seem to come in OK, as did the Oscars.

#2 of 11 OFFLINE   Patrick Sun

Patrick Sun

Studio Mogul

• 38,215 posts

Posted March 24 2003 - 02:07 AM

Not everything being broadcasted over the HDTV channels will be in the 16x9 form factor. There is still 4:3 material being broadcast over the HDTV feeds. The feed will have sidebars processed into the video feed for the 4:3 shows (also local news shows). If a show is "hard matted" for letterbox, but is really inside a 4:3 window, it's going to have black bars all around the video portion. Shows like Angel and Enterprise do this on HDTV displays (both 16x9 RPTVs and 4:3 RPTVs).
"Jee-sus, it's like Iwo Jima out there" - Roger Sterling on "Mad Men"
Patcave | 2006 Films | 2007 Films | Flickr | Comic-Con 2012 | Dragon*Con 2012

#3 of 11 OFFLINE   Bill Griffith

Bill Griffith

Supporting Actor

• 581 posts

Posted March 24 2003 - 04:42 AM