What's new

Newbie SACD Question (1 Viewer)

JordanS

Second Unit
Hello friends,

I am anxiously awaiting the SACD of Dark Side of the Moon. I am planning on buying a SACD player, the Sony DVP-NS755V.

I have Adcom Seperates; the GFP-565 Pre-amplifier, and the GFA-545 II Amplifier. Will I be able to run a SACD player off this pre-amplifier and get SACD on two channels?

I am looking into buying a new receiver, however, I am curious if I can at least get two channels of SACD sound with Adcom Seperates.

Thank you for your help, as I am a complete newbie to SACD/DVD-Audio.

Rachael B

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Rachael Bellomy
All SACD's play in stereo, some have multi-channel SACD tracks too, and hybrid SACD's add a CD layer. So you can do DSOTM in stereo and someday play it M/C too or play it's CD layer in your portable CD since it's a hybrid. I'm waiting for my copy and it's in the mail!:) Best wishes!

KeithH

Senior HTF Member
Jordan, Rachael is right on the money. I will add that you will connect the 'NS755V to your pre-amp as you would any CD player -- just use two RCA cables. Note that you can only play SACDs through the analog outputs, so if you get a surround-sound receiver or pre/pro with a DSP (digital signal processor), you will not be able to use a digital connection for SACD.

JordanS

Second Unit
I have another question.

I have been discussing my situation with a friend of mine, who sells audio/video. He is telling me that unless I use an optical or digital coaxial cable or a six channel input the sound will be analog and I will not get the effect of what SACD is really supposed to be like. He is insisting that it is meant to be ran through a multi-channel input.

As you know, I have the Adcom GFP-565 II Pre-amplifier. I only have a 2 channel amplifier right now, but plan to get a 5 channel amplifier.

Can someone please tell me what my options are?

I would sincerely appreciate it!

Thank you---Jordan S.

Rachael B

Senior HTF Member
Real Name