Jump to content



Sign up for a free account to remove the pop-up ads

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and remove the pop-up ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo
- - - - -

Dual subwoofers


  • You cannot start a new topic
  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 of 11 OFFLINE   Andrew Pezzo

Andrew Pezzo

    Second Unit



  • 483 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 17 2003

Posted March 19 2003 - 06:02 AM

I have seen in a few magazines when reviewing speakers that they sometimes hook up 2 subs. My questions is how do they do that? When I bought my sub (Energy S8.2) I was living in a small place. I have the opportunity to get another S8.2 for under $100 and since I live in a bigger place I want to get it. I have a Denon AVR 3803 with Energy Connoisseur speakers (C-7's for front, C-1 for rears, and C-C3 is on the way). I appreciate any help I can get on this.

#2 of 11 OFFLINE   ColinM

ColinM

    Screenwriter



  • 2,057 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 08 2001

Posted March 19 2003 - 06:15 AM

An RCA "y" adapter from the sub out, or at the sub end of the sub cable - do the Y there if they are to be stacked to save cable expense.
You call that a knife?

#3 of 11 OFFLINE   Andrew Pezzo

Andrew Pezzo

    Second Unit



  • 483 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 17 2003

Posted March 19 2003 - 06:27 AM

The only thing I could think of was splitting the sub output on the receiver but that seemed to easy to me, guess I was on to something. That being said I also thought having one sub connected through a low level connection and the other a high level connection was a way to do it but that seemed wrong also. That makes me wonder about the quality of the signal being sent, I would think splitting it would cause a bit of signal loss.

#4 of 11 OFFLINE   Bob Kavanaugh

Bob Kavanaugh

    Second Unit



  • 282 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 17 2003

Posted March 19 2003 - 07:09 AM

I split my subwoofer out with no noticable signal loss. I just went to radio-shack and picked up a gold series splitter for 5.99. (This will not be a problem when my STR-DA2ES arrives... I CAN'T WAIT!)

#5 of 11 OFFLINE   Stephen Hopkins

Stephen Hopkins

    Screenwriter



  • 2,598 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 19 2002

Posted March 19 2003 - 07:12 AM

Depending on the sub, many have line level outputs as well as inputs, so you could just "daisy chain" the two subs. IE, receiver to sub 1, sub 1 to sub 2.

Hope this helps Posted Image

#6 of 11 OFFLINE   Edward J M

Edward J M

    Screenwriter



  • 2,031 posts
  • Join Date: Sep 22 2002

Posted March 19 2003 - 09:06 AM

You are better off Y splitting at the sub out. There is no signal loss - the voltage is identical at both leads. There can be (but not always) a signal degradation associated with daisy chaining. Regards, Ed
Ed Mullen
Director - Technology and Customer Relations

SVS

www.svsound.com

"What we do in life, echoes in eternity."


#7 of 11 OFFLINE   RichardH

RichardH

    Supporting Actor



  • 742 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 28 2000

Posted March 19 2003 - 09:09 AM

There should be plenty of juice from the receiver's sub out to compensate for the small voltage drop in splitting the signal. Since they are identical subs, try to set their volume knobs the same. That way, you're getting equal output from the pair and not working one more than the other. This will ensure you're getting the most output possible from the two.

#8 of 11 OFFLINE   Wayne A. Pflughaupt

Wayne A. Pflughaupt

    Producer



  • 5,952 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 05 1999
  • Real Name:Wayne
  • LocationKaty, TX

Posted March 19 2003 - 11:24 AM

Andrew,

[quote] That makes me wonder about the quality of the signal being sent, I would think splitting it would cause a bit of signal loss. [quote] Don’t confuse “signal loss” with “signal quality.” There may be a little loss with splitting, but as others here have sufficiently noted, that is nothing to be concerned about. If a slight reduction in signal level translated to loss of quality – well, we’d have a problem every time we ratcheted down the receiver’s volume control. Posted Image

Regards,
Wayne A. Pflughaupt

My Equipment List
“A nice mid-fi system,” according to an audiophile acquaintance.

My Tech / DIY Articles and Reviews

#9 of 11 OFFLINE   John H

John H

    Second Unit



  • 473 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 27 1998

Posted March 21 2003 - 01:00 AM

[quote] Depending on the sub, many have line level outputs as well as inputs, so you could just "daisy chain" the two subs. IE, receiver to sub 1, sub 1 to sub 2. [quote]
Before using this configuration check your subwoofers owners manual. Many subwoofers implement a high pass filter on the line level outputs.

John

#10 of 11 OFFLINE   Aaron Garman

Aaron Garman

    Second Unit



  • 382 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 23 2001

Posted December 13 2003 - 11:27 AM

I've actually come across some luck and now have a JBL PB10 in addtion to my PB12. I'm using both with a monster cable sub cable that has a Y splitter with it. The question is, am I better off turning their volumes all the way and setting the volume from my Yammie HTR-5280 or should I set the Yammie to full for the sub and adjust volume at the sub? Thanks! AJG
"It's been my lifelong ambition to be a movie usher, and I have failed, as far as I am concerned" - Bob Dylan

#11 of 11 OFFLINE   Frank Carter

Frank Carter

    Screenwriter



  • 1,188 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 12 2002

Posted December 13 2003 - 01:26 PM

I would set the Yamaha to it's mid level and then adjust from the subwoofer.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users