Jump to content



Sign up for a free account to remove the pop-up ads

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and remove the pop-up ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo

What kind of Amp should I run with my Studio 60's ???


This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
5 replies to this topic

#1 of 6 OFFLINE   Jakarta Tom

Jakarta Tom

    Extra



  • 24 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 07 2003

Posted March 09 2003 - 12:52 PM

I have a marantz 7200 and am running my studio 60's with it but I feel I could get an even better sound if I added an amp. I would love some suggestions. Thank you

#2 of 6 OFFLINE   RayJK

RayJK

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 131 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 25 2002

Posted March 10 2003 - 12:05 AM

I'm not sure what you mean by "what kind?" Do you want to know brands, power or actual type like tubes or solid state?

In general, any of the brand name amps like Parasound, Adcom, ATI, Anthem etc etc in the 100-150 wpc range will work very well.

#3 of 6 OFFLINE   Dave Ma

Dave Ma

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 113 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 17 2003

Posted March 10 2003 - 02:18 AM

Rotel RB 1080Posted Image
Never argue with a fool, one may not know the difference!

#4 of 6 OFFLINE   Leon O

Leon O

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 77 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 02 2002

Posted March 10 2003 - 04:14 AM

Tom, I'm running a 7200 with an Adcom GFA-545 (100x2) for my mains. As much as I enjoyed the Marantz sound, I found a slight, but noticable improvement in the soundstage and imaging.

FYI: I did, however, pick up a click that accompanies the Marantz dropouts in-between DC tracks...etc. I've heard that the clicks are due to the preamp outputs of the 7200. You might want to demo an external amp to see if you get the click or if you find the click annoying. I'm used to it, so it doesn't bother me.

Good Luck Posted Image

#5 of 6 OFFLINE   Chip E

Chip E

    Screenwriter



  • 1,166 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 25 2000

Posted March 10 2003 - 10:19 AM

B&K amps would be a good choice.
- Chip

My HT

#6 of 6 OFFLINE   FrederickR

FrederickR

    Extra



  • 19 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 10 2003

Posted March 10 2003 - 11:29 AM

Well to take advantage of your studio performance, you should at least have separate !!

Thanks

Frederick Richard

EDIT : Sorry didn't read the post correctly :b

My badPosted Image