Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and remove the pop-up ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo
- - - - -

Wanna keep a newbie from buying Bose?

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
20 replies to this topic

#1 of 21 OFFLINE   MarissaH

MarissaH

Auditioning

• 8 posts

Posted March 01 2003 - 03:36 PM

Then let's give the newbie some suggestions.

My mother and I are complete newbies at this sort of thing. In the past, we haven't had a lot of money for anything but the essentials, in fact, we did not even own a cheap cassette player until about 8 years ago. But now my mother has graduated from school and we have much more disposable income now. We were in Best Buy today picking up a DVD player (Sony DVP-NS715P in case you're wondering, I figured a nice place to start), and we wandered over to the home theater section. Of course, the Bose Lifestyle 28 system is featured front and center, so that's where we went. I must admit, that was the best-sounding thing I've ever heard. My mother leaned in to me and said if we saved up, we should be able to get one in a few months, and then get a better TV.

Now from reading this forum, I understand that many consider Bose to be of rather poor sound quality, and much too expensive. If I can save us some money and have a better sounding system, I'd be happy. But I have no idea where to start. I'm pretty sure what would be most convenient for us would be a subwoofer+speaker set, since obviously I don't know enough to mix and match these things. A DVD/CD player would be really nice, as well, but since we did just pick one up, perhaps not essential.