What's new

Using the ART 351 EQ and the SVS 20-39CS sub ? (1 Viewer)

Samson

Stunt Coordinator
I've asked SVS tech support about using an EQ with my SVS sub but I also wanted to hear other people's opinions. I finally purchased the ART 351 EQ and could anyone offer some advice on how to effectively use my EQ to get better bass ? How do I find and eliminate 'spikes' and 'nulls' from my system ?
I've never used an EQ before but I've heard
some benefits could be attained if the EQ is used properly.
My system is mostly used for home theater. The sub is also calibrated at 5-6 db over the main channels. Currently, I have a 6 db boost at 31.5 hz which works great for movies despite the decreased headroom. I like watching movies with the volume at moderate levels which would probably explain why I haven't heard the sub clip or bottom out so it's working fine so far.

Bhagi Katbamna

Supporting Actor
One way is to get a Radio Shack SPL meter(the analog one) and a Low Frequency sweep CD(for example Stereophile Test CD). Then play the sweeps and write down the dB value at all of the frequencies and adjust your EQ accordingly. Setting it by ear will not give you accurate results. Also remember that the SPL meter readings for low frequencies are not exactly spot on with the RS SPL meter. There is an adjustment(you have to add upto 6dB to the reading at certain low frequencies) that I am sure someone else will direct you to.

Ned

Supporting Actor
Samson-
Before you start tweaking the modes and nulls, set the high-pass filter cutoff. Play a 20hz tone so it reads something low like 70db on your RS meter. Then turn the knob until it slightly drops (-0.5db), then turn it back very carefully till the drop goes away. That sets the high-pass to filter just below 20hz without affecting above that frequency. The markings on the unit itself are utterly wrong. For me, it reads about 12hz where the right setting actually is for 20hz.