1. Guest,
    If you need help getting to know Xenforo, please see our guide here. If you have feedback or questions, please post those here.
    Dismiss Notice

YPAO vs. SPL meter?

Discussion in 'AV Receivers' started by Pete Bishop, Jun 26, 2004.

  1. Pete Bishop

    Pete Bishop Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    My new Yamaha has the YPAO system integrated, so do I need an SPL meter? Has anyone had any experience with the YPAO?
     
  2. Wayne Ernst

    Wayne Ernst Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2002
    Messages:
    2,589
    Likes Received:
    0
    Pete,

    With my Yamaha HTR-5760 receiver, the speaker levels were set pretty close. For me, I was quite pleased with those results. However, the crossover for my subs were set to 120Hz and a few other "flakes" were noticed.

    The chances are quite good that YPAO will set your speaker levels correctly. Once the YPAO process has been completed, just take the time to go back through the settings that were made to ensure you agree with them.

    You may very well be fine in living with these results. But, for the rest of us, we still depend on our trusty $35-40 SPL meters for all sorts of sound adjustment tasks.
     
  3. Pete Bishop

    Pete Bishop Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Cool man. Thanks! I got the 5760 also.
     
  4. Eddie Horton

    Eddie Horton Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2004
    Messages:
    237
    Likes Received:
    0
    The only quirks I've had with YPAO on my 5790 were the one that Wayne spoke of(different crossover setting with YPAO from what I went with) and it set my mains to large where I set them as small. Other than that, the level settings and EQ settings were great. All in all, I have no problems with it. It gives a great starting point to work with.
     
  5. Drew_W

    Drew_W Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2003
    Messages:
    1,718
    Likes Received:
    0
    I used an SPL meter to bring it in even closer. My Pioneer Elite MCACC came close, but I tweaked it with my SPL meter anyways...
     

Share This Page