What's new

Your take on the Toyota debacle? (1 Viewer)

Steve Schaffer

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Steve Schaffer
If this is inappropriate or violates forum rules in any way I hope a mod. will delete this.

I was a Toyota dealership tech from '71 to '06 and was always under the impression that Toyota was very good at taking responsibility for problems with their vehicles. My general experience was that most owners were very loyal.

Lately they've been getting a lot of criticism for a number of issues and was wondering what the general consensus around here is on the matter.

Is it possible that they have had no more problems than any other mfg. but are now being singled out because of their commercial success, or have they become arrogant with their success and gone into denial?

Ron-P

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Ron
I've owned Toyota's since 1985 when I bought my first 4x4. I've owned many over the years and my wife has a Sienna now. When it comes time for her to buy a new car it will be a Toyota. I'd even own a Toyota now if they had more sporty 2-door cars but they don't.

gene c

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Gene
I think the biggest issue is that it took so long to figure out what was causing the problem. Not sure if they really know yet. Plus, a sticking gas peddle scares the heck out of people. Remember Audi's sudden acceleration of the mid 80's? Toyota's are good cars with a loyal following. They will over-come this.