What's new

yht 298 (1 Viewer)

0337_v

Auditioning
Real Name
Usman Vali
Hi All, New to this site as I am having problems with my yht 298 I am not getting any sound from my unit I have a LG 42LM670 TV and have connected this at moment to the YHT 298 but am not getting any sound from the unit. I have enabled the TV so it accepts ARC but still no joy. I have connected my iPhone to it and get sound what could be the problem that I am not able to trace. New to this so go easy and thanks in advance.

schan1269

HTF Expert
HW Reviewer
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Sam
ARC is not guranteed to work between brands...as it requires CEC to be "on" and CEC itself is not an industry standard.

Connect a toslink from the TV to the 298, forget ARC.

Also, what sources are you using? Can you connect them to the 298?

0337_v

Auditioning
Real Name
Usman Vali
Hi Schan1269 I am new to all this so what do you mean by Toslink and at moment I am not using any sources but will be connecting a 3d blu ray player later on or should I connect it all together so it is all done in one go?

Al.Anderson

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Al
The problem with using toslink (optical) is that you'll only get stereo, not surround sound. So while ARC may not work for you in the end (because of the diffrent manufactureers), make sure you've done everything correctly before giving up on it. The usual mistake is not "turing on" ARC during the Yamaha set-up.

0337_v said:
... at moment I am not using any sources but will be connecting a 3d blu ray player later on or should I connect it all together so it is all done in one go?
You should connect the BR to the receiver for the reason I gave above. If you connect it to the TV to make things "simple", you'll lose surround sound.

schan1269

HTF Expert
HW Reviewer
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Sam
He'll get 5.1 off the internal tuner. Which is apparently his only source...other than the "Smart features"...

Those will be stereo or not, regardless of the toslink/ARC.