What's new

Worth Upgrading From Denon 3300 to 3802 (1 Viewer)

Daniel Mai

Stunt Coordinator
Your opinions please.

I currently have Denon 3300 and really enjoy the sound and features of this unit that I have been using for three years now. I feel that the upgrade bug is waiting around the corner and is ready for a bite.

I hear a lot of good things about the 3802 and was wondering if it is worth the upgrade? Since I'm using this in a small room (13'x15'), I would only set it up as a 5.1 speaker system, not 7.1. So, would it be worth it to use the 3802 just for its 5.1 setup? Is the sound much better than the 3300 since I've read here that it even sound better than the 3801?

Thank you!

Marc Rochkind

Second Unit
Well, I am in a similar situation, as I have a Denon AVR-3600. What I'm missing is preamp inputs for multichannel SACD and DVD-Audio.
Haven't decided to upgrade yet... saving my money.
Isn't is nice to have a receiver that still says AC-3 on the front panel? :)

Tom D

Stunt Coordinator
:emoji_thumbsup: Good question, I have a 3300 as well. I have been wonderring the same thing. My other question would be, if there is no sonic improvement, what other receiver would give me a sonic improvement. Marantz 7200,8200. Pioneer vsx36tx. Yamaha 2200.:frowning:

Michael Mathius

Senior HTF Member
I have the 3802 and my neighbor has the 3300. There is not a day that he comes over and not wish he has the 3802 especially because of the 7.1 and DPL11. Unfortunatly his wife won't allow him to upgrade, something about needing money for food on the table and that nothing is wrong with his receiver.

Zbigniew

Stunt Coordinator
I have 3300, which migrated from primary HT unit to computer room unit. Would I upgrade from 3300 to 3802 ?

Not, unless I need DPL II. For all other purposes there is not enough difference for me to waste $500 (diff between what old 3300 can be sold for and how much will I pay for 3802).