What's new

Wood vs plastic vs in ceiling (1 Viewer)

Pexx

Auditioning
Real Name
Gustavo Peixoto
Hello everyone, I posted this in another thread but did not get an answer. This is my first time here, so I appreciate any help. :emoji_thumbsup:

I am trying to set up my first HT. From my limited research I believe I arrived at a decent entry level system with Polk audio stereos (fronts = RTi A1/A3). But I have limited space to install the Front stereos so I am considering two alternatives:
1) Plastic stereos, like B&W VM1 or Bose[/u]
2) In wall or in ceiling fronts with a regular center, all Polk

I would like not to lose much sound quality, and I would like it to sound good with music and movies.

- Do you think the options above are noticiably inferior to the Polk stereos?
- Can anyone suggest smaller bookshlef speakers with similar quality?

Thank you,
Pexx

Pexx

Auditioning
Real Name
Gustavo Peixoto
Let me add another issue: the front speakers will have to be "shoved" inside the furniture. So I guess there is some loss of quality. If this is the case, will the small satellite speakers or the in ceiling ones sound about the same?

John Gates

Second Unit
What is your budget?

Sounds like placement room or size is an issue. How big is your room?

Generally, I don't like inwall speakers, and I think in ceiling speakers are terrible for imaging.

I would recommend something mid to small bookshelves hung with wall mounts over in-walls (most of the time).

If you give a budget and other constraints, I'm sure you will get more replies with ideas that will give you the best sound within your budget and space constraints.

Good luck,

John

Pexx

Auditioning
Real Name
Gustavo Peixoto
I have a basic project with front speakers Polk RTi A3 or A1 and a center Polk CSi A4. I am sorry I cannot give you a budget b/c I live in Brazil and prices are way differente (ie I pay much more for the same speaker).