1. Guest,
    If you need help getting to know Xenforo, please see our guide here. If you have feedback or questions, please post those here.
    Dismiss Notice

Why do some discs take forever to load?

Discussion in 'Blu-ray and UHD' started by Mike Heenan, Jan 4, 2008.

  1. Mike Heenan

    Mike Heenan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2001
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    0
    Im sure this has been discussed before and I did do a search but couldn't find anything off the bat. I have a Blu Ray player, and noticed that WB discs tend to load quickly and start up with the movie after a warning or two, but Disney discs take like forever in comparison. Is this a "cache" issue, a player issue, or does Disney just like to torture people?
     
  2. RickER

    RickER Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2003
    Messages:
    5,130
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Tulsa, Oklahoma
    Real Name:
    Rick
    They load up a bunch of Java stuff. Some of those Disney titles have games, and menus that take time to load, even if you dont want to play the game, stuff still loads. However with firmware updates i have seen that time quicken up some. Mike, check your firmware and see if its the latest. I have a Sony BD S300, and it just had a new update in the last week.
     
  3. BrettB

    BrettB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2001
    Messages:
    3,024
    Likes Received:
    0
    Get a PS3. [​IMG]
     
  4. Ben Jordan

    Ben Jordan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2002
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    GSP
    Real Name:
    Ben
    Seriously. I loaded up Ratatouille the other day, and it even gave a huge warning about the disc potentially taking MINUTES to load. Well, I think it took about 3 seconds on my PS3!

     
  5. Reagan

    Reagan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2002
    Messages:
    546
    Likes Received:
    3
    Real Name:
    Reagan
    The Panny 30 is also a super fast loader. It's also Profile 1.1. The only downside to it is that you need a HDMI 1.3 receiver to listen to the advanced Dolby and DTS audio formats.

    -Reagan
     

Share This Page