What's new

Who else is looking forward to the Panasonic DMP-BD50? (1 Viewer)

Jaxon's Dad

Supporting Actor
Real Name
Doug
I've been drooling since this player was announced. I cannot wait. DTS-HDMA decoders built in. According to bluray.com MSRP will be $599 and it will street in May. I've been saving for a few months for this puppy and by May, I'll have more than enough. I'll probably pick up a Fox Blu-Ray at the same time so I can experience DTS-HDMA. May cannot get here fast enough!

PaulDA

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Paul
Either this or the Sony S550 will be my first Blu-ray player. Both will be out by the time I get around to buying one (or receiving it as a Xmas gift). For the same reason you state--internal audio decoding of ALL the codecs.

Jari K

Senior HTF Member
Blu-ray.com - Panasonic DMP-BD50 Blu-ray Player - Specifications

DMP-BD50 | Blu-ray Disc Player | Panasonic Global

HDMI 1.3. Check.
Profiles 1.1/2.0. Check.
Ethernet. Check.
TrueHD/DTS-MA - BOTH Decode and Bitstream output. Check.
Analog out. Check.
24fps support. Check.
DVD-/+ R/RW & CD-R/RW. Check.
MP3/JPEG/DivX. Check.

Did I miss something? On the other forums some people mentioned the lack of UBS-port..

Sounds pretty great player based on these specs.

Not sure what the upscaling chip etc will be, but I´m sure it´s pretty good.

Carlo_M

Senior HTF Member
I think the most common complaint for the BD-50 is the lack of 7.1 outputs. It isn't for me, as my current amp can't accept 7.1 in, nor am I willing to re-tool my HT at this time to add 2 more speakers (in my 2BR apt it really doesn't make sense).

As long as it is BD2.0 compliant and performs as good or better than my PS3 (which includes PQ, AQ and responsiveness/loading times) then I'm going to spring for it.

If not, I'll wait for the internal decoding of the HD-audio in my PS3 and buy a new receiver that can handle 5.1 PCM output over HDMI (which my NAD T763 cannot handle).

Stephen_J_H

All Things Film Junkie
Senior HTF Member