1. Guest,
    If you need help getting to know Xenforo, please see our guide here. If you have feedback or questions, please post those here.
    Dismiss Notice

Which 5.1 Music Format Do You Prefer?

Discussion in 'Playback Devices' started by Cliff Olson, Apr 22, 2003.

1. Cliff Olson

Cliff Olson Well-Known Member

I'm new to multi-channel audio, and with the 2+ formats available, DVD-A, SACD, and DTS (DVD-A that uses the digital out!), it is quite overwhelming. I don't have multi channel inputs on my Lexicon, so I can only play SACDs in 2-channel format (I have Sony's 999ES). I am pleased with SACD stereo, but I can't help but wonder how much better multi-channel SACDs would sound.
    I really like the idea that DTS uses the digital out on CD/DVD players, but I have no idea if their sound is as good as SACDs or regular DVD-As in multi-channel. I just bought Vivaldi's Four Seasons on DVD-A (DTS), but I'm not very impressed (and I'm a HUGE fan of DTS Movie Soundtracks!). Are there great sounding DTS CDs out there?
    I'm wondering what format you guys (and gals) like the best. Thanks!

2. Philip Hamm

Philip Hamm Well-Known Member

3. Dan Joy

Dan Joy Well-Known Member

To me the source recording and how the sound people use it is more important than the actual DVD-Audio, DTS, or SACD formats. DTS sounded great(and some still do) until I heard DVD-Audio and SACD. As a caveat, there are plenty of poor sounding material in all three formats. Luckily I can have all three and buy what I want.

P.S. IBTFW (in before the format war)[​IMG]

4. Jerome Grate

Jerome Grate Well-Known Member