1. Guest,
    If you need help getting to know Xenforo, please see our guide here. If you have feedback or questions, please post those here.
    Dismiss Notice

Where in system....

Discussion in 'Beginners, General Questions' started by ViewFinder, Apr 8, 2013.

  1. ViewFinder

    ViewFinder Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2012
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Langley, BC, CANADA
    Talk about your 'beginner' question: Now that I have connected my Sony Surround Sound Theatre system to work correctly with my LG HD tv, I have been given a Shaw Digital Box. Where, in the system, should it be connected.....just a rough idea...between the TV and the Sound system, or after? I might be able to figure it out if I know this.
    I have been told that I'll get a better picture if I use the red-yellow-white phono cables instead of the S-cable. Any opinions here?
     
  2. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,041
    Likes Received:
    894
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
    Well...that depends...

    Which Sony system is this? HTiB or an AVR?

    Is this dig cable box HD?

    IF not HD and this is an HTiB, this is trickier...model numbers and I'll come up with the best alternatives...
     
  3. ViewFinder

    ViewFinder Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2012
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Langley, BC, CANADA
    The 5.1 sound system is a SONY DAV-S300.
    The tv is an LG plasma RU-42PX10.
    The digital box is a SHAW DCT-6200/2000.

    If you want photos of the separate unit's outputs/inputs, just ask.

    Thanks.
     
  4. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,041
    Likes Received:
    894
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
    That would help...
     
  5. ViewFinder

    ViewFinder Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2012
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Langley, BC, CANADA
    Sorry, but the second photo should say "Back of Cable box".


    IMG_3488.jpg IMG_3489.jpg IMG_3494.jpg IMG_3495.jpg IMG_3497.jpg
     
  6. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,041
    Likes Received:
    894
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
    Since the cable box has DVI and your TV has DVI, get a DVI cable(anymore they are cheap as online stores are trying to dump them off).

    Then run the red/white audio to the Video 1 on the HTiB.
     
  7. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,041
    Likes Received:
    894
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
    By the way, if you ever "move up" to a HDMI cable box and a HDMI AVR, the HDMI can be ran to the DVI.
     
  8. ViewFinder

    ViewFinder Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2012
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Langley, BC, CANADA
    After talking with the Shaw (tv signal provider) representative, I have been informed that they broadcast, currently, in 720, so using Component cables would give me the best possible picture quality. The manual for the digital box lists DVI-D connection as the best. Finding DVI-D cables has been a real hassle up here in Western Canada so I'm glad of that latest info. Broadcasting in 1080 is still a couple of years away so HDMI connections can wait.

    Thanks for the help, people. Forums have helped me many times.

    -ray-
     

Share This Page