1. Guest,
    If you need help getting to know Xenforo, please see our guide here. If you have feedback or questions, please post those here.
    Dismiss Notice

WHAT SIZE COAX CABLE IS BEST FOR HDTV?

Discussion in 'Playback Devices' started by jason123, May 10, 2008.

  1. jason123

    jason123 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2002
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am wiring my basement now and I just wanted to make sure I am putting large enough cable for HDTV, 1080P etc...I bought some RG6 at home depot..is that the right size?
     
  2. jason123

    jason123 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2002
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    To be clear the wiring I am referring to is for a HDDVR Direct TV receiver
     
  3. gene c

    gene c Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2003
    Messages:
    5,837
    Likes Received:
    46
    Location:
    Bay area, Ca
    Real Name:
    Gene
    I believe RG6 is the proper choice but it's been a while since I wired my house and my memory ain't what it used to be [​IMG] . But RG6 sounds right.
     
  4. mylan

    mylan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Messages:
    1,686
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, RG6 is the preferred size, it has more shielding than RG59. I am running cable so I am not sure but I think to do direct tv correctly, you must run two cables to each location. Someone chime in here but I think two to each is the way to go.
     
  5. Robert_J

    Robert_J Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2000
    Messages:
    8,264
    Likes Received:
    46
    Location:
    Mississippi
    Real Name:
    Robert
    Yes, you need 1 cable per tuner and the DVRs have two tuners. But there is a new technology that allows you to run both tuners with a single cable. The Single Wire Multi-Switch is not a standard piece of equipment but it does allow people who can't run an additional cable to be able to fully utilize the DVR.

    If you want OTA, you will need to run an additional cable. You can't diplex OTA with the new HD channels.

    -Robert
     
  6. jason123

    jason123 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2002
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    what is OTA and diplex? Sorry idiot talking here..I ran 2 cables where my box will be...
     
  7. gene c

    gene c Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2003
    Messages:
    5,837
    Likes Received:
    46
    Location:
    Bay area, Ca
    Real Name:
    Gene
    OTA is "over the air" (as in roof top antenna) and diplexing is using a single cable to input two signal sources. You can't combine an OTA and HD satellite signals into one cable connected to the back of a satellite receiver. You need to use a separate cable for each. This may be true but I had to use a 75 foot cable so I went a little "over-kill". When it comes to running cables thru walls, under houses and up thru the floor I use the best I can get because I only want to do it once.
     
  8. thrca

    thrca Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2007
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just wanted to chime in briefly here...
    While I have spent time in a cable company, which might bias my opinion, I would use RG-6 for everything. The cost difference is not dramatic between the two, and I feel that RG-6 will better protect your cabling investment as well as be slightly more resistant to loss due to the larger center conductor.

    On a side note, the one recommendation I absolutely will note is that if you are doing your own connectors, either go buy or bribe your cable guy for a decent set of compression crimpers and cable prep strippers instead of mechanical crimp connectors. Compression fittings are going to be a more reliable connection. Not sure if they make these for RG59 though. Dont nick your center conductor (stinger).
     

Share This Page