What's new

What shows are broadcast in 5.1 digital surround? (1 Viewer)

DaveF

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Dave
I'm new to OTA HD and I'm still sorting out the details to make sure I've got the electronics configured correctly. My current concern is audio. Is there a convenient list of audio formats for digital broadcast shows; specifically any shows in 5.1 digital surround?

Joe_H

Screenwriter
I could be mistaken but I think that almost all HD that I watch is in 5.1. I don't tend to look at the receiver when I'm watching TV though.

Ken Chan

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Ken
As long as you get the Dolby Digital light on your receiver, you're getting everything you can. The alternative would be for the tuner/box to down-mix to stereo, intended for analog. (In theory, you could take a down-mixed stereo signal and send it through a digital connection, like you could from a CD player, but then the Dolby Digital light would not come on.)

To check, watch anything with the capital letters C, S, and I in the title; not necessarily in that order. There are several of those each week (I only watch NCIS). The title sequence is nicely goosed up.

I seem to recall some shows that are broadcast in 5.1, but only have audio in the front left and right channels. But as long as you are getting audio in all 5.1 channels from some shows, that would mean the problem is at the source, and not a fault in your setup.

Nick Martin

Senior HTF Member
My receiver has this scrolling display that indicates a new audio signal format coming in. When detecting Dolby 5.1, it will scroll "Dolby Digital 3/2.1" from right to left.
htf_images_smilies_smile.gif

CBS does a six channel stereo effect when outputting shows not originally in true 5.1. The local and national newscasts, some (not all) commercials, etc.

Pretty much all prime-time shows are in 5.1, with results different with each show's individual mix.