1. Guest,
    If you need help getting to know Xenforo, please see our guide here. If you have feedback or questions, please post those here.
    Dismiss Notice

What do I need to receive HD signals?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Jeff_N, Jan 30, 2001.

  1. Jeff_N

    Jeff_N Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2000
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a Sony KP-61HS10, and I just found out that a local station about 25 miles away just began broadcasting this last Sunday in High Definition. (They did not advertise this fact until after the Superbowl!! That is another issue.) What is the minimum I need to receive the signal? I'm really not wanting to get a dish receiver, but I want to receive OTA signals.
    What do you recommend?
    1) Buy a HD Dish receiver anyhow because of pricing.
    2) Get a OTA receiver to connect to my TV.
    Any other suggestions would be welcomed...
     
  2. Timmy

    Timmy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 1998
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    the minimum you need is an HDTV OTA tuner (STB) and a TV antenna. Right now, I think all STB's also include a dish receiver as well..... whether you need it or not. I cannot speak for ther RCA DTC 100 STB, but the DishNetwork model 6000 (with optional OTA module) requires you to be a Dish Subscriber inorder for the OTA HDTV tuner to operate... it cannot be used solely as a OTA HDTV tuner.
    ------------------
     
  3. Joel Smith

    Joel Smith Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 1998
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    rca's dtc-100 does not require you to have a subscription to get OTA high def. Nice piece of equipment for the price. I think many forum members would agree with me.
     
  4. Jeff_N

    Jeff_N Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2000
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Okay, $550 for the DTC-100, $140 for the converter, $30 for the antenna.
    Is it worth $720 to be able to watch just one station in HD? (CBS)
    I need another DSS receiver, so the DTC-100 would do that, but a Hughes receiver is just $50, so the difference is $680.
    Come on, someone convince me!
    Is there a Sony HD-DSS receiver coming out soon??
     
  5. RobertR

    RobertR Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 1998
    Messages:
    9,663
    Likes Received:
    153
     
  6. Kirk Gunn

    Kirk Gunn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 1999
    Messages:
    1,612
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is there anyway to test if you can really receive a strong HD signal ? I live ~ 20-30 miles from DC and Baltimore which both have HD. I would hate to invest the OTA cash to find out the signals are too weak in my area.
    Unfortunately DISH and DirecTV are not an option due to the nature of my wooded lot.
    Thanks
     
  7. Mike I

    Mike I Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2000
    Messages:
    727
    Likes Received:
    0
    Samsung just released the str-t150 which is an hd decoder box only for ota signals...It outputs either 720p or 1080i your choice and msrp is 699...
    ------------------
     
  8. Drew_N

    Drew_N Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2000
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Jeff - I think some people have been called up DirecTV and asked to speak with their customer retention department. Once you finally get transfered there, I believe if you mention the words "Dish Network" enough they sometimes will give rebates for upgrading your equipment. Don't know if this is completely true, but I've read it a few places.
    ------------------
     
  9. Jeff_N

    Jeff_N Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2000
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    >> Is there anyway to test if you can really receive a strong HD signal ? I live ~ 20-30 miles from DC and Baltimore which both have HD. I would hate to invest the OTA cash to find out the signals are too weak in my area.
     
  10. Stephen Tu

    Stephen Tu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 1999
    Messages:
    1,573
    Likes Received:
    0
    I thought the Sony was RGBHV capable? At least according to their web site it is. Is this not the case? On one of their direct-view HD I saw the HD inputs labeled for both YPrPb and RGBHV usage (3 connectors dual usage, + 2 separate H & V sync connectors); there is probably some switch back there or menu selection to pick between the two. I'd assume the same is true of the HS10 models. Then you wouldn't need the converter (which ought to be $100, not $140), just a VGA breakout cable, maybe $20.
     

Share This Page