1. Guest,
    If you need help getting to know Xenforo, please see our guide here. If you have feedback or questions, please post those here.
    Dismiss Notice

what amp for 4 ohm speakers?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by CodyL, Aug 5, 2002.

1. CodyL

CodyL Member

I am looking to setup my new HT with GR-Research AV1+ speakers which are 4 ohm. Was going to get the Denon 1803, but the manual to the 2802 (supposedly close in specs) states not to run speakers below 6 ohm. Looked at the Outlaw 1050 and it doesn't comment on whether 4 ohm is OK either. I am new at this and have read all of the posts I could dig up on searches here, but I can't find a definitive answer on what my options are for a 4 ohm setup (preferably 6.1 - like the Denon). HELP a poor newbie! I have to know if these speakers are OK so I can get started building the cabinets to enclose the 106" screen that will incorporate my speakers of choice - so I must know my dimensions. I somewhat understand the ohm difference, I am just looking to see what I can affordably run that will handle 4 ohm speakers. thanks.

2. Jason_Me

Jason_Me Well-Known Member

You should probably tell us your price range if you want recommendations for receivers or amps.

3. Paul Clarke

Paul Clarke Well-Known Member

I agree with Jason...but I'll offer a suggestion or two anyway in terms of running 4 Ohms:

H/K's are rated to 2 Ohm in Stereo and handle 4 Ohm Multi-channel with no sweat. But they do not offer 6 channel amping...only decoding. Outlaw 1050 at $499 gives 6.1 and excellent power and sound but is getting a little dated. 4 Ohms should not be a problem.

4. Ches Campbell

Ches Campbell Well-Known Member