1. Guest,
    If you need help getting to know Xenforo, please see our guide here. If you have feedback or questions, please post those here.
    Dismiss Notice

Using s-video *and* component-video?

Discussion in 'Home Theater Projects' started by TyR, Apr 9, 2003.

  1. TyR

    TyR Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2003
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm about to purchase my first HDTV. I've already received the Scientific Atlanta 3100HD box from Time Warner. I'm going to run the video straight from the STB to the TV, bypassing my receiver. Someone told me that in addition to connecting the STB to the TV via component cables, I should also run an s-video cable from STB to TV? Is this true? If so, why are both needed? Thanks!
     
  2. Michael Reuben

    Michael Reuben Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 1998
    Messages:
    21,769
    Likes Received:
    2
    The HD output from the Scientific Atlanta box is only viewable if the TV is in HD mode. For a variety of reasons, I don't want to watch non-HD content in my set's HD mode. For regular programming, I connect the TV via S-video.

    M.
     
  3. TyR

    TyR Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2003
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    So will I have to manually switch something in the TV when I change from a HD to a non-HD channel (or vice-versa)?
     
  4. Michael Reuben

    Michael Reuben Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 1998
    Messages:
    21,769
    Likes Received:
    2
     
  5. TyR

    TyR Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2003
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gotcha, Michael. I'll first try my luck with the upconverting, and if it's bad (as you report), then I'll use s-video.

    Many thanks!
     
  6. Michael Reuben

    Michael Reuben Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 1998
    Messages:
    21,769
    Likes Received:
    2
    I assume you're looking at 16:9 sets, because there are very few 4:3 HD models these days.

    One place you'll run into problems is with regular broadcasts in letterbox format (e.g., Enterprise and various movie channels like IFC, Sundance, occasionally Sci-Fi). Through the HD input, you will not be able to expand a letterbox broadcast to the full width of your screen; so you'll end up with black bars on all four sides. With an S-video connection, you should be able to use one of the zoom modes typically available on 16:9 sets.

    M.
     
  7. TyR

    TyR Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2003
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Indeed, 16:9 sets. I'll keep that info in mind when I've got the set here and am getting acquainted with it! Thanks again.
     

Share This Page