What's new

Using lamp wire to extend speaker wire? (1 Viewer)

Shadow

Agent
Real Name
Ruben
Hello,

This is my first post on this forum. I am a complete newbie in all aspects of Home Theater. In fact, I would have probably never even thought about the subject if it wasn't for the fact that my parents gave me their old Bose Acoustimass 15 Series II speakers. And, no, I am not going to sell them on ebay to get a better set. I am just going to plug them in and enjoy them as they are, for better or worst.

Of course, the plugging in part is what brought me here. Being a complete newbie, I was about to post a question regarding splicing a few more feet of speaker wire, and the effect this may have on my system. But, I thought I would do a little Googleing first. To my delight I found this very interesting article that I thought I would share, for the benefit of other newbies like myself.

(Oops, not allowed to post the link yet. Well, if you are interested, just do a Google search for "What's All This Splicing Stuff Anyhow". Click on the second hit so that you can see the comments about the article as well.)

As to my HT setup, I don't have any big plans for it. I just ordered an Onkyo 605 receiver from J&R based on the good things I am reading about it. I have my parent's Bose speakers, and I have a tiny, but very clear Samsung LN-S2738D LCD TV. Yes, it is only 27", but I hope it is enough. I haven't received it yet. Oh, and I have a DVD player, but I can't remember what brand it is right now. I think it is not too bad. But really, considering that, before this, we used to watch our movies on a 20" Magnavox analog TV hoked up to our old Aiwa stereo, and we were happy!, I think we will be more than pleased with this setup.

Any way, this is just my long winded way of saying hi. :)

Bob McElfresh

Senior HTF Member
Hi Ruben. Welcome to HTF!

Many of us started out hooking an odd-assortment of speakers, receivers together so dont let anybody tell you otherwise. :)