1. Guest,
    If you need help getting to know Xenforo, please see our guide here. If you have feedback or questions, please post those here.
    Dismiss Notice

Using Computer speakers with my Plasma TV

Discussion in 'Beginners, General Questions' started by xiaobao12, Nov 1, 2013.

  1. xiaobao12

    xiaobao12 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi all,

    Is there a receiver that could allow me to hook up my Klipsch Promedia Ultras (3 x 3.5mm jacks) to use with my Plasma TV? I would hate to get rid of these speakers. They are 500 watts and the sub is great.

    I am currently using a Creative DDTS but there is an annoying hum that I can't figure out how to get rid of. Is it because I live in an old house and have ungrounded outlets? The Samsung is TOSLINK out to the DDTS.

    Thanks for any advice.
     
  2. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,041
    Likes Received:
    894
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
    You have to buy an AVR with pre-outs.

    An AVR with pre-outs would cost more than buying a
     
  3. xiaobao12

    xiaobao12 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Schan,

    Thanks for replying. Sorry for the noob questions but I looked up the Integra and the Onkyo you listed. None of the outputs are 3.5mm.
     
  4. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,041
    Likes Received:
    894
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
  5. xiaobao12

    xiaobao12 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Oh duh. Stupid me. Yes, of course.

    Is there a signal lose if I go this route?

    [color=rgb(40,40,40);font-family:'Merriweather Sans', sans-serif;background-color:rgb(242,242,242);]An AVR with pre-outs would cost more than buying a
     
  6. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,041
    Likes Received:
    894
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
    You are missing the phrasing used...

    a meant for theater set of speakers.
     
  7. xiaobao12

    xiaobao12 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    So EMI = electromagnetic interference right? I take it that you are saying if I do go this route of keeping these speakers and using RCA to 3.5mm, I will experience loss?
     
  8. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,041
    Likes Received:
    894
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
    EMI has nothing to do with loss.

    I've used 200ft of 1/8th cable between amps before(when the amps were daisy chained and had a long run and wanted it where it could get stepped on...of course covered)

    How far away from the pre-outs is the woofer going to be?

    6ft? 10ft? 25ft?

    Is there a wifi network? Is there the base to a cordless phone?

    I just remembered...

    There is this thing. You can be the guinea pig...
    http://www.amazon.com/Panlong-Audio-Digital-Decoder-Converter/dp/B00AMC2J1Y/ref=sr_1_2?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1383339150&sr=1-2&keywords=toslink+5.1+analog
     
  9. xiaobao12

    xiaobao12 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Schan, I ordered a Denon AVR-1613. I got it from Costco so can return if it's not good.
     
  10. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,041
    Likes Received:
    894
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
    So you are ditching your computer speakers and buying a new set of speakers.

    Cool.
     
  11. xiaobao12

    xiaobao12 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well...not exactly yet. I do have a pair of Polk Monitors coming that I will try with this receiver.

    I haven't given up on the Klipsch Ultras yet! :) I found this receiver at Best Buy - it would work with my computer speakers right, since it has pre-outs?

    Thanks Schan.
     
  12. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,041
    Likes Received:
    894
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
    There is a guy on here selling a Yamaha RX-V1800.Same basic price as the Denon.And there is no link about "this will work".
     
  13. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,041
    Likes Received:
    894
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
    I re-read your post.That 1613 doesn't have pre-outs. Which is why I said..."oh so you are buying speakers"The lowest cost Denon with pre-outs is the 3312/3.
     
  14. xiaobao12

    xiaobao12 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
  15. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,041
    Likes Received:
    894
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
    You only need 1 subwoofer input.That AVR, was well over $1000. Keep in mind it is not 3D compatible. Which is probably why he is selling it.
     
  16. xiaobao12

    xiaobao12 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Schan - thanks for writing. I looked up some things on 3D. First, I would need a TV that has 3D, right? That is something that I don't see myself doing.

    Aside from that, would the V-1800 that that guy is selling be a great buy for me and keep me happy for many years?
     
  17. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,041
    Likes Received:
    894
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
    More than likely...yes.And when you decide on some real speakers...it will power darn near anything. Even Maggies.
     
  18. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,041
    Likes Received:
    894
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
    No. Preouts in Yamaha are the...

    667(last model year of the 6XX to have them)
    871
    773
    775

    If you can't tell...67/71/73/75 denote year they were made. The 6, 7 and 8(if not obvious...the first digit) denote series. Those are lowest model numbers each year to have pre-outs. So...if the 667 has pre-outs...so does the 767(if it exists) and 867(if it exists).
     

Share This Page