What's new

Using a JL12w7 (3ohm) with 4 ohm Power amp (1 Viewer)

Norm12345

Auditioning
Real Name
Norm
Hi everyone, This is my first post here... but I had a question that I can't find a clear cut answer to... I got a great deal on JL 12w7 in a sealed box a while ago from a friend of mine, originally this was going to go in car, but I spent the money on some good component speakers instead and I can drive as much as bass as I really need in a car application with just those. So I'm looking at using this speaker for my Home Theater/Stereo setup. I'm really not aiming at using it to its full capacity as of right now, its rated at 1000w with a 3 ohm load. I'm also a bass playing musician, and in the mean time, we don't have a current rehersal studio that I can use my power amplifier. Our practices are generally running through a headphone amplifier and I really only need my pre-amp for this. So Its coming out of my rack unit for now... The power amp is a Yorkville AP4040 it rated at 1200w@4ohm continuous per channel, and I was simply going to use one channel to power the JL12w7. Again, I doubt I'll be using all its potential power and the amp does have thermal protection in case I do over load it... Right now, its only going in 2.1 system with 2x klipsch F-20 tower speakers... but eventually it will evolve to a 5.1 system, with some better towers, leaning towards Paradigms... Also, can anyone recommend me a suitable amp in the future for the JL 12w7 sub? I assume I'll have to get a 2ohm amp. Thanks,

Robert_J

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Robert