1. Guest,
    If you need help getting to know Xenforo, please see our guide here. If you have feedback or questions, please post those here.
    Dismiss Notice

Trouble with Progressive Scan on my GameCube

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by DustinDaniels, Nov 20, 2001.

  1. DustinDaniels

    DustinDaniels Auditioning

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2001
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well I have a Sony KV-36XBR450 HDTV with progressive scan and I am using the Gamecube component cables and when I switch to progressive scan on any gamecube game the screen seems blurry (muted)...for some reason it is more clear on the interlaced option. Somebody suggested that since my T.V. has a line doublier that when you switch it to progressive scan on the game that it's messing it up and that my line doublier is better than the progressive scan software on the game disc....Please help me with this problem..........Thanks...

    Dustin
     
  2. Camp

    Camp Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 1999
    Messages:
    2,303
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm fairly certain the XBR450's line doubler is bypassed in progressive mode. Can you exchange the component cables?
     
  3. JasonRH

    JasonRH Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2001
    Messages:
    504
    Likes Received:
    0
    Dustin,
    I have read in several posts on people using progressive scan output vs. interlaced output (via DVD) on the XBR's and most of them found the progressive picture (which bypasses the DRC) to be softer and less sharp than the equivalent interlaced image that is upconverted via the Sony DRC. That may be a normal effect and you, too, may just prefer the upconverted interlaced picture. Cables may be working fine.[​IMG]
     
  4. Michael Banks

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2001
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Dustin,
    You should probably readjust the sharpness for the progressive signal. Pick one setting and adjust that for best picture quality of the cube. Usually I have to adjust the picture, brightness, and sharpness for game systems. The sharpness probably needs to be bumped up a little for the progressive signal. I found that switching between interlaced and progressive on my dvd player required different levels of sharpness. The progressive feed required more before excessive noise.
    Rogue Leader looks amazing in 480p and so does Halo. The only problem is deciding which one to play.[​IMG]
     
  5. JasonRH

    JasonRH Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2001
    Messages:
    504
    Likes Received:
    0
    "Also, Dustin there is a known problem from Sony with the progrssive input- for at least the XBR400 series"

    Ken, that's interesting. Could you elaborate on this a bit? I've never heard of a "problem" with progressive inputs on the XBR series. I'm thinking of getting another one (my first had bad color purity problems) and would like to know more about this before I buy one.

    Thanks a lot.
     
  6. JasonRH

    JasonRH Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2001
    Messages:
    504
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks Ken,

    Let us know how the GC components work out. You getting the Nintendo cables or a generic brand?
     

Share This Page