What's new

Total newbie needs help picking digital video camera (1 Viewer)

Joseph DeMartino

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Joseph DeMartino
Unless you count my phone, I don't own a camera of any description at the moment. I'm just getting bids on a major rennovation of my condo (which will include rebulding a home theater that has basically been in storage for three years) and want to document the process, plus I have a new(ish) nephew and very new niece that I'd like to grab pictures of.

I was starting to research digital still cameras when I realized I'd also like something to take movies, and I'm now inclined to look for a compact digital video camera that will also take good still pictures.

I'm totally overwhelmed by the options. Hi-8, Mini-DV, DVD, hard disc storage... Help!

I'm looking to spend something under $500 and to end up with a quality product that I won't want to chuck in two years. Bundled software isn't that big a deal since I already have Pinnacle Studio Plus 9. I'd prefer both Firewire and USB 2.0 connectivity since I do some video editing (from files) on my laptop, which only has USB 2.0, as well as my Firewire-equipped desktop. Other than that, I'm open to suggestions, and would really like to hear the pros and cons of various media.

Help me HTF Community, you're my only hope. ;)

Later,

Joe

Thomas Newton

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Thomas Newton
Digital camcorders generally don't make good digital still cameras, and vice versa.

There are a bunch of consumer camcorder formats. Of the once-common analog formats, only Hi8 is still worth considering. Hi8 is not as computer-friendly as MiniDV. If you go with Hi8, and want to do computer-based editing, you will need a fast analog video I/O card.