1. Guest,
    If you need help getting to know Xenforo, please see our guide here. If you have feedback or questions, please post those here.
    Dismiss Notice

TOSLink output on Xbox?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by John Kilroy, Oct 22, 2001.

  1. John Kilroy

    John Kilroy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 1997
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    0
    EDIT - 10/29
    ----
    Well, thanks for all the input, folks, I've ordered the 30 foot optical cable with TOSLink connectors from the source I listed below. If I found anything has gone awry, I'll post a follow up. Thanks again.
    --
    Original message:
    Can anyone verify what kind of optical output is on the Advanced AV pack? TOSLink (square) or Miniplug (round)?
    I am ordering the cabling I will need to integrate my Xbox into my HT, and I want to make sure before I order. Also, does anyone have any thoughts on 30-foot optical digital audio runs? Will this impact the quality of the signal?
    Thanks in advance,
    John Kilroy
    ------------------
    www.kilroyinteractive.com
    [Edited last by John Kilroy on October 28, 2001 at 10:57 PM]
     
  2. John Tillman

    John Tillman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 1999
    Messages:
    598
    Likes Received:
    0
    Toslink might not be durable enough for this. Also, most people would need a longer run (6' or more) to reach the back of a receiver. This could get pricey.
    For a long distance digital run perhaps quad shielded RG6 would do it. Check out The Home Depot for reasonably priced stuff.
    [Edited last by John Tillman on October 22, 2001 at 07:11 PM]
     
  3. Gary King

    Gary King Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 1999
    Messages:
    480
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's TOSLink.
    I believe the A/V packs are supposed to include the necessary cables, but I doubt that Microsoft is including 30' of cabling [​IMG]
     
  4. AndyVX

    AndyVX Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2000
    Messages:
    808
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just to further this question a bit, I had something I wanted to ask.
    Where is the Digital Output? Is it on the High-Def AV Pak? I know it isn't on the system itself, so I'm assuming it's on the High-Def pak. Has it also been confirmed that it's optical? I would think that coax. would make more sense if it's on the High-Def pak.
    Thanks.
    Andrew
    ------------------
    ICQ# - 119869807
     
  5. Dean Cooper

    Dean Cooper Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2000
    Messages:
    975
    Likes Received:
    3
    Yep, TOSlink
    30' should be no problem for fiber optic, the trick is to find someone that will sell you one. You could always buy 2 15' cables and put a connector from rat shack in between them, I doubt that you would notice a difference in the quality, I've done that before and haven't had a problem ( thank goodness for digital).
    Dean
    Edit: Good question Andy, It is confirmed to be optical and the output is on the pack itself. I am still scratching my head as to why they decided to design it that way.
    [Edited last by Dean Cooper on October 22, 2001 at 07:08 PM]
     
  6. Gary King

    Gary King Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 1999
    Messages:
    480
    Likes Received:
    0
    The connector is on the HD and Advanced A/V packs. I've been too lazy to go downstairs and check if the HD pack has a coax output, too (there are six RCA connectors on the HD pack; however, I've heard the sixth is for composite video, not coax sound).
     
  7. John Kilroy

    John Kilroy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 1997
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gary and Dean,
    Thanks for the confirmation, guys. I assume you have had your hands on the actual AV packs? None of the literature out there shows the appropriate angle to see the optical connector.
    As far as a 30 foot optical cable, it looks like:
    http://www.core-sound.com/toslink-cables.html
    has them for sale for $30 (plus s/h). Does that price sound too good to be true? I've never bought "generic" cables before...
    Thanks again.
    John Kilroy
    ------------------
    www.kilroyinteractive.com
     
  8. Dean Cooper

    Dean Cooper Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2000
    Messages:
    975
    Likes Received:
    3
     
  9. Peter_A

    Peter_A Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 1999
    Messages:
    333
    Likes Received:
    0
    Good old Microsoft making you buy an add-on to get the most out of their system *sigh* [​IMG]
    ------------------
    Peter
     
  10. LewisD

    LewisD Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2001
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's better than Nintendo giving you NO digital out at all... [​IMG] [​IMG]
     
  11. Dean Cooper

    Dean Cooper Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2000
    Messages:
    975
    Likes Received:
    3
    Well, I have now looked at an actual HDTV pack. The current one only has 5 RCA outputs on it and one TOSlink.
    Component outputs
    Analog sound out
    Digital TOSlink out
    That's it, so what ever the mystery RCA output was is no longer there, probably was a composite video out anyway.
    Dean
     
  12. James D S

    James D S Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2000
    Messages:
    1,002
    Likes Received:
    1
    Only TOSlink out? Well, there's the first short-sighted (maybe just "poor") design decision from Microsoft. If that's all I'll have to compromise around, that won't be too big of a problem.
    Hopefully, future A/V packs will allow for coax.
    (I can think of no clear advantage for going with TOSlink exclusively.)
     
  13. John Kilroy

    John Kilroy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 1997
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    0
    When I was researching DVD players a lot in 1997, I noticed that the less expensive ones offered only TOSLink, no coaxial. Perhaps a cost-cutting move on Microsoft's part?
    Personally, I always thought it would cost *more* to convert a signal to optical, but I'm a software guy, so what do I know? Maybe some EE on the forum will enlighten me...
    John
    ------------------
    www.kilroyinteractive.com
     
  14. Leroy

    Leroy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 1997
    Messages:
    306
    Likes Received:
    0
    I got to talk to an Xbox rep at Wal-Mart (He seemed to be there advising on the display and sales for Nov 15). According to him it's a coax output. Makes sense, why would there be a composite video output on a Hi-Def accesory, kinda defeats the purpose.
    Looks like it's 3 jacks for component video, 2 for L/R audio(to the tv) and 1 for digital coax.
     
  15. Joe Rigali

    Joe Rigali Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2001
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok so does all this mean that if I buy an Hd pack I can use my optical cable for my DTS system (just like on the back of my PS2) and my componet cables?
     
  16. Dean Cooper

    Dean Cooper Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2000
    Messages:
    975
    Likes Received:
    3
    Yes
     

Share This Page