1. Guest,
    If you need help getting to know Xenforo, please see our guide here. If you have feedback or questions, please post those here.
    Dismiss Notice

Toshiba HD-A3 upconvert SDDVDs over component?

Discussion in 'Beginners, General Questions' started by PeterK, Feb 21, 2008.

  1. PeterK

    PeterK Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2004
    Messages:
    519
    Likes Received:
    0
    sorry if the answer to this question is burried somewhere in here, but i want to buy one of these later this afternoon.
    since the A3 is so damn cheap now, and my dvd player is starting to skip discs, I'm going to go for. I just want to know if it will upconvert over component or if I have to use HDMI. I would just prefer to use component, my tv is DVI anyways so i'd have to go to all the hassle of ordering a HDMI to DVI cable from bluejeans just to display a picture that won't be any better than component anyways.
    I might even pick up cheap HD-DVDs as the firesale on them begins...
     
  2. Stephen_J_H

    Stephen_J_H All Things Film Junkie
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Messages:
    4,553
    Likes Received:
    396
    Location:
    North of the 49th
    Real Name:
    Stephen J. Hill
    You have to use HDMI, as all HD players (and this includes BD) will only upconvert over component if the disc is not copy-protected. That selection is limited, and includes Harry Potter and the Philosopher's/Sorcerer's Stone and some early Paramount titles, though I couldn't tell you which ones. The HDMI-to-DVI cable will only work if your DVI connection is HDCP compliant (check your owner's manual). HDMI-to-DVI cables are cheap anyways, and can be had at your local Wal*Mart.
     
  3. Zack Gibbs

    Zack Gibbs Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2005
    Messages:
    1,687
    Likes Received:
    2
    There is a very clear increase in quality from component to HDMI/DVI as well. You'll see the difference.
     
  4. PeterK

    PeterK Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2004
    Messages:
    519
    Likes Received:
    0
    ah, so assuming none of those are true (can't remember if my tv is HDCP, it's one of those toshiba 720p 50" CRT RPTVs...can't even remember the model number off top) will this player still output a 480p signal over component or unprotected DVI? will is just downconvert HD DVDs or will those not even play?
     
  5. Dave>h

    Dave>h Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2004
    Messages:
    377
    Likes Received:
    6
    It'll play hd dvd at full resolution over component, just won't upconvert.
    I understand there are ways around it but discussing them is forbidden on the boards.

    DAve
     
  6. Stephen_J_H

    Stephen_J_H All Things Film Junkie
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Messages:
    4,553
    Likes Received:
    396
    Location:
    North of the 49th
    Real Name:
    Stephen J. Hill
    Dave is correct. HD DVD will play at 1080i over component, but upconversion will not occur over component. Thankfully, none of the studios utilised the ICT token on HD DVD to restrict resolution through component to 480p.
     
  7. JohnMor

    JohnMor Premium
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2004
    Messages:
    4,032
    Likes Received:
    1,280
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    Real Name:
    John Moreland

    Not necessarily. My HDMI/DVI connection isn't as good as my component. The color rendering is better, but the fine detail is less. Go figure. Over component I can literally count the pores in the actors' faces, but via the HDMI/DVI connection, their skin is smoother and less detailed. I was very disappointed.
     

Share This Page