1. Guest,
    If you need help getting to know Xenforo, please see our guide here. If you have feedback or questions, please post those here.
    Dismiss Notice

To those who have dedicated lines AC lines

Discussion in 'Home Theater Projects' started by Hank, Mar 29, 2003.

  1. Hank

    Hank Guest

    I'm getting 2 dedicated 15amp AC lines installed next week. After everything is setup again and plugged in what should I listen for? Did any of the other members hear a difference after having dedicated lines? My gear is listed below.

    My power conditioning products include PS Audio P300 Power Plant, PS Audio Ultimate Outlet (high current version), PS Audio Power Port (wall duplex).
     
  2. PaulT

    PaulT Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2002
    Messages:
    932
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hank, since you are taking the plunge for new lines anyway, I might suggest asking your Electrician how much of a difference he will charge you for 2 x 20Amp lines instead.

    That way you will be set in future should you decide to go with separates / higher powered amps or more equipment [​IMG].

    Can't answer your initial question for you, but thought I would offer up the above suggestion.
     
  3. Lee Bailey

    Lee Bailey Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2000
    Messages:
    263
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Central California
    Real Name:
    Lee Bailey
    With all the PS Audio stuff you already have installed, I would not think you'll see or hear a lot of difference. But, every little bit helps!
     
  4. Neal_C

    Neal_C Second Unit

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2001
    Messages:
    476
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had two 20 amp outlets installed and I feel like it really allowed my Rotel amp to open up and make my Def. Techs sing like I thought they should. I considered spending money on Richard Grey or PS Audio equipment, but I was steered by fine folks on here as well as AVS to first try a dedicated outlet. I am very glad I did.
    It only costs me $211 to have both circuits and a whole house surge protector installed (that is total cost including labor and materials).
    I now feel more comfortable having my amp plugged directly into the wall.

    It is a very worth-while investment.

    Neal
     
  5. Chu Gai

    Chu Gai Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2001
    Messages:
    7,270
    Likes Received:
    1
    Neal, did you ever pick up on an ancillary device for the other equipment? BTW, you can always get those cool looking hospital or heavy duty outlets and put them in yourself. As a personal bias, i prefer attaching the wires to the outlets via screws rather stabbing them.
     
  6. Neal_C

    Neal_C Second Unit

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2001
    Messages:
    476
    Likes Received:
    0
    Chu,
    I already had a Monster 3600 that everything else is plugged into. I couldn't find anyone locally with hospital grade outlets in a white color, so I just had them use commercial grade 20 amp outlets.

    Neal
     
  7. Chu Gai

    Chu Gai Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2001
    Messages:
    7,270
    Likes Received:
    1
    i'd forgotten that...
    to the poster, i'd consider having a whole house unit put in and that way you'd have legitimate surge protection for everything in your home.
     
  8. Brian tj

    Brian tj Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2003
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi to all
    I must agree with Paul GO 20 amps $ diff is small. I just did my room with one 20 amp line and along the way I switched BK 507 receiver to BK ref 50 + ref 200.7 amp. The amp alone pulls 18.5 amps. I just ran a new 20 amp line for every thing ells.[​IMG]

    Good luck Brian

    PS I used surgeX for protection.
     
  9. Hank

    Hank Guest

    Looks like I'll be doin' 20amp instead. Thanks guys for the info.
     

Share This Page