What's new

The Virginian (1 Viewer)

Mark Talmadge

Senior HTF Member
Has anyone heard anything about this series being released? I'm just being a bit curious about it since Bonanza and Virginian have yet to be even partially released to DVD as season sets.

Bob Hug

Screenwriter
I have no hard knowledge about "The Virginian" being released on DVD and so this is just speculation on my part, but I wouldn't be surprised if this was eventually released by Timeless Media for several reasons. First, and foremost, "The Virginian" was a Revue/Universal series and Timeless has licensing arrangements with NBC Universal for a number of the studio's vintage series. Second, Timeless has one of the largest catalogs of vintage TV Westerns released on DVD and "The Virginian" would certainly be a good "fit" for them and, more importantly, their customer base. Third, Timeless has released two shows that were produced for a 90 minute time slot, both "Wagon Train" (last year's color season release) and the crime drama "Arrest and Trial," so they are certainly open to releasing longer form television shows. Beyond that, it would be a matter of how "The Virginian" is released, i.e., would full seasons be released or would a compilation of episodes be released. I suspect the answer to that would depend on whether Universal has any "off the shelf" tape masters of the show (like "Laredo" -- a spinoff of "The Virginian," and "Wagon Train"), or whether Timeless would have to go the route of assembling 16 millimeter syndication prints (like "The Deputy" or "Riverboat," among others). I do feel fairly comfortable in saying that if "The Virginian" does ever get a DVD release, it'll come from an independent through license by Universal; I don't see Uni releasing this on their own.