What's new

The Video Settings on My Samsung BD-P1500 Are Screwed up and Now I Can't See A Thing! (1 Viewer)

WilliamG

Supporting Actor
So everything was fine until I started playing ..
I have my blu-ray player connected to my (now antique) Toshiba 50" rear projection tv that only goes to 480p. I was screwing around with the video settings in the player and hit "720p". The on-screen instructions from the player stated that if the screen went black to wait 15 seconds and it would revert to the previous settings, and everything would be fine.

Well, it didn't. And it isn't.

My tv screen is black and I can't see a thing. The front panel of the player indicates "720p" and I can't get it reverted back. I tried Samsung online chat. After a 20 min. chat, the woman couldn't help me, saying that I needed to fill out an online repair form.

Don't wanna do that. I've tried doing what she said in order to reset the machine. (hold down the ff button for 15 sec.) Didn't work. I tried unplugging. Still nothing.

Please help!
Thank you in advance!

TravisR

Senior HTF Member
By no means am I an expert but how is it connected to the TV? If you're using component cables, unplug them and reconnect the player using a composite video cable, I think that only delivers a 480 signal so you might be able to get a screen and change the settings like that.

Let me repeat, I'm no expert so you might want to wait for the opinions of some of the more learned folks here.

WilliamG

Supporting Actor
Thanks for the suggestion, Travis, but it's too hard to get to to do a lot of re-connecting.
There's got to be a simple way to reset the player to factory specs ...

Joseph DeMartino

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Joseph DeMartino
Originally Posted by WilliamG

Thanks for the suggestion, Travis, but it's too hard to get to to do a lot of re-connecting.
There's got to be a simple way to reset the player to factory specs ...