What's new

Tax Software (TT vs. TC) (1 Viewer)

Dan M~

Second Unit
I've been using Turbo Tax for about 6 years. Last year Turbo Tax loaded alot of junk, spyware on my machine, so this year I may consider Tax Cut.

My ?'s,

Has Turbo Tax cleaned up their act this year??

Does Tax Cut import previous years data from Turbo Tax?

What do you recommend?

Thanks for the guidance.

Jim Tressler

Stunt Coordinator
Dan,

I am in the same boat as you.. From what I have seen - TT got rid of the crap (including that damn activation), but they still try to get you yo buy all kinds of their products while going through your return. I went to TC website and they state that they can import TT data - A friend of mine that does taxes on the side says last years version of TC imported TT data with no problems - so I would imagine this years is ok as well. Also for what it is worth he recomends TC over TT. Hope that helps.

jim

Mike Voigt

Supporting Actor
For those reasons - spyware, etc. - I ended up using TaxCut last year, despite being a long-time (10+ years) user of TurboTax.

If TurboTax/Intuit indeed cleaned up their act, then I may reconsider going back to them. But I have to say tha TaxCut was very straightforward to use, just about as easy as TurboTax.

Brett_H

Second Unit
Dan,

Thanks for asking this question, it's one I've been meaning to post for some time. If you don't mind, I'd like to pigyback on this thread with a few ?'s of my own:

I used TurboTax online two years ago and liked it, but my life was much simpler then (single, renting an apartment, etc). Now I'm married and we bought a house in April of this year, which will complicate things a bit. We went to an accountant last year who did an average job I guess, but we got RAPED since we'd just gotten married in 10/02, and it didn't feel any better to shell out $$ to some guy only to have him tell you to bend over... but I digress.