1. Guest,
    If you need help getting to know Xenforo, please see our guide here. If you have feedback or questions, please post those here.
    Dismiss Notice

Taking the plunge to a FP.... a few questions

Discussion in 'Displays' started by Dave Borgman, Feb 13, 2004.

  1. Dave Borgman

    Dave Borgman Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2002
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi all, looks like i will be purchasing an infocus x1 in the next week or two. Big question on my mind. How do I hook up component cable box (HDTV), compnoent DVD player, and component Xbox? I have seen the adapter that allows you to hook up one component to the VESA plug on the projector, but nothing that you can hook 3 up with.

    Also I have an older Sony DVD player that works well. Do I need to upgrade to a progressive scan?

    Thanks for any help Dave.
     
  2. Chuck H

    Chuck H Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2002
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    You will need a component switcher if your reciever does not do component switching. Do a search for component switchers and you will find plenty of info.
    If your current DVD player is not progressive scan you will not be able to run it through the component to Vesa adapter that the xbox and HDTV are going into as it only accepts a progressive signal. If you want to stick with your current dvd player get the component to svideo adapter as well and run your dvd player through the X1's svideo port.
     
  3. ChadLB

    ChadLB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2002
    Messages:
    1,523
    Likes Received:
    0
    Dave,
    Chuck covered it all.
     
  4. Dave Borgman

    Dave Borgman Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2002
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the input guys. I think to keep initial costs down I'm going to do this.

    Run the Component to VESA adapter for the HD cable box. The normal composite video for the xbox. And normal s-video for the DVD (would the compoent to s-video adapter make much of a difference?)

    I have to run cables probably about 20 feet from under the screen, to the side of the aprtment to the back wall where I will have the infocus on a shelf. Doing a quick search online the longest s-video i can find is 12 feet? I hope there is longer out there. Also for the HD cable box should i run component from the front to back to the adapter to the infocus, or should i run a monitor extension cable?

    Once again any input is greatly appreciated. You guys are the best.

    Dave
     
  5. Martice

    Martice Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2001
    Messages:
    1,092
    Likes Received:
    0

Share This Page