What's new

Take The Lie Detector Test Or Not? (1 Viewer)

James Edward

Supporting Actor
This is one of those 'I can't believe this is happening to me' stories...

I have been working for an A/V installation company for about 6 months. About three weeks ago, a laptop went missing at a job. The homeowner thinks one of us in the company took it... I did not do it, nor do I think the other guys did either.

The 'company', is the owner, and three workers. To make matters worse, the homeowner is a neighbor of my boss.

Ironically, I was not working at this particular site that day, but stopped by with my boss to drop off some parts. We were there for 10 minutes. However, since this homeowner had previously dealt with my co-workers, he feels that I am the prime suspect- being 'the new guy.'

My boss is trying not to have the police involved, and is going to pay for lie-detector tests for each of us.

Should I submit? My gut instinct is: Why not? I haven't done anything wrong. However, my wife, her brother(a police Captain), and several others say I should not.

For those that know- What are my options and the ramifications of this?
I am tempted to simply tell this homeowner to go ahead and get the police involved, I've done nothing.

Thoughts? Thanks

Philip_G

Senior HTF Member
I think I'd seek the advice of a lawyer. My gut instinct is no way. If your boss doesn't take your word for it he doesn't trust you, and if he doesn't trust you, you're better off elsewhere.

george kaplan

Senior HTF Member
Lie Detectors do not detect lies. They are actually polygraphs, which record various physical measurements (such as heart rate and sweat). All that a "lie detector" could actually measure, if that, would be your nervousness, which could easily occur when one is telling the truth. And it's not really that hard to tell baldfaced lies and not show up as nervous.