What's new

Syndicated Alf in better condition - Lion's Gate is FOS (1 Viewer)

Mark To

Supporting Actor
I work in the industry and this story that they are using the pre-cut tapes because the originals are in poor shape is BS. The show is less than 20 years old and unless they took the 1-inch masters and stored them in some damp basement (highly unlikely), they will be fine. The Judy Garland Show was shot on 2-inch in 1963 and the transfers are pristine. LG is trying to claim that a show recorded 25 years later has deteriorated. Come on. They are too cheap and or too lazy to go through the trouble and expense of remastering the show from the original videotapes.

Juan Books

Stunt Coordinator
Real Name
Juan
I just wonder how will certain studio apologists on this forum try to justify Lions Gate decision. People need to understand that certain studios (Sony, Universal, Lions Gate) are our enemies, and that the fight is on to wrestle the control of our TV favorites from them. They don't care an ounce about our beloved shows and movies, the intentions and wishes of the people who made them, or the desires of the consumers who pay their inflated salaries, so why should their "ownership" over those shows and movies be recognized by society? Copyright reform is an imperative.

Christian Preischl

Screenwriter
Real Name
Christian Preischl
The Canadian ALF Files looks great, and is uncut!
But in the end it doesn't even matter to me whether they used syndicated cuts or not. They still made additional (sometimes drastic) cuts due to music rights, so in the end we still would have gotten a cut product. Not as badly cut, but still pretty bad.

And it appears that, even though there was quite a bit of outrage when season 1 was released, Lions Gate doesn't give a sh*t, as they will release season 2 in the same fashion, according to this.
No way I'm gonna buy that one.

Chris

Andrew Radke

Screenwriter
Real Name
Andrew Radke