1. Guest,
    If you need help getting to know Xenforo, please see our guide here. If you have feedback or questions, please post those here.
    Dismiss Notice

Surround sound question

Discussion in 'Beginners, General Questions' started by Big Rick, Feb 4, 2013.

  1. Big Rick

    Big Rick New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Recently i got a Logitech Z506 surround sound system for my gaming PC (vast improvement over my old TV speakers) but its using the 3.5mm jack that plugs into the headphone socket in the back of my TV. I am currently looking at getting a sound card for my computer but i was wondering which input/output system is the best quality, although its nod bad at the moment it isnt what i would call great The options on the back of my Sub for the sound system are; - 3.5mm 'audio in' (think mic in type) - 6 Ch - Stereo L/R Just want to know so i get the right sound card first time and apologies if this has been asked before
     
  2. Al.Anderson

    Al.Anderson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2002
    Messages:
    2,465
    Likes Received:
    56
    Real Name:
    Al
    Are you asking which sound card ot get, or what inputs to use on the Z506? Assuming the former, of the 3 input options, only '6 ch' gives you surround sound; the rest are stereo/simulated surround sound. So defintitely 6 channel. You will need a sound card for that, it's not meant to take input from standard steeo equipment (like a TV or receiver). So if you're building a HT-PC, great; otherwise you'd be better off getting a receiver and routing everything into that.
     
  3. Big Rick

    Big Rick New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah, i was wondering which inputs to use, meaining i can thus get the right sound card
     
  4. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,041
    Likes Received:
    894
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
    Do they still make 3 plug/6 channel soundcards? I thought mini toslink killed that off 10 years ago and HDMI killed off mini-toslink 3 years ago...
     
  5. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,041
    Likes Received:
    894
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
    I did find this... http://www.amazon.com/Zalman-ZM-RSSC-External-Sound-Card/dp/B0001OZ2K8/ref=sr_1_13?s=pc&ie=UTF8&qid=1360014125&sr=1-13&keywords=analog+soundcard Seems most 5.1 or 7.1 analog sound cards are $100+. HDMI cards aren't much more.
     
  6. Big Rick

    Big Rick New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm pretty sure that this card has the right outputs (6 channel) for what im after, but if anyone knows for sure can you let me know please http://www.novatech.co.uk/products/components/soundcards/90-yaa055-1uan00z.html Cheers in advance edit - i am limited in choice somewhat as the only accessible ports on my motherboard are PCI-express not PCI (the PCI slot is obstructed by my housebrick of a graphics card)
     
  7. chapcantfixistv

    chapcantfixistv New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi, I have a pioneer tv model PDP4270XD also Pioneer surround system. It's from about 2007 . I am trying to get my sky hd to play in surround sound! I have got sound but just stereo. I have loads of cables 2 x hdmi 2 x scary 1 x digital optical cable I just like some help to get the best performance out of my system. Regards, rob
     
  8. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,041
    Likes Received:
    894
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
    You need to connect the Sky STB directly to your AVR...(your TV is dumbing it down to 2.0PCM)
     
  9. chapcantfixistv

    chapcantfixistv New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi, Thanks for the reply, but could you explain as I am not massively technical wise , sky stb? Avr? Also what would be the best cables to use? Regards.
     
  10. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,041
    Likes Received:
    894
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
    Set Top Box Audio Video Receiver Your Sky HD(in other words...the STB) needs to have audio directly connected to the AVR(see above).
     
  11. chapcantfixistv

    chapcantfixistv New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you! i'll give it a go
     

Share This Page