1. Guest,
    If you need help getting to know Xenforo, please see our guide here. If you have feedback or questions, please post those here.
    Dismiss Notice

Subwoofer setup question

Discussion in 'Speakers' started by Sidney, Feb 3, 2005.

  1. Sidney

    Sidney Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Okay.. this is a stupid question, but one I've been wondering for a while..

    I have a Velodyne VA-1215X for a very long time. My Velodyne has 2 RCA inputs for Line In.. I have one output for the Subwoofer from my Denon 3805 receiver. Do I run a single RCA cable from my receiver to a RCA splitter into the 2 RCA ports of the Subwoofer? Or do I just hook up one, or run dual RCA cable to the sub (splitter would be at the output of the Receiver). Or does it matter?

    Thanks for the answer.
     
  2. SethH

    SethH Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,867
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just plug it in to one of the jacks. The splitter would help IF your sub is an auto-on (meaning it turns on automatically when it receives a signal) and it's not getting enough of a signal to turn it on when it needs it.
     
  3. Nathan Stohler

    Nathan Stohler Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2004
    Messages:
    329
    Likes Received:
    0
    Are the two inputs for left and right? Some subs have an input that bypasses the sub's crossover and another that uses the crossover.
     
  4. John S

    John S Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2003
    Messages:
    5,460
    Likes Received:
    0
    I like the splitter method myself and run it this way, and set all others I help out that way as well.
     
  5. Sidney

    Sidney Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    The subwoofer is a auto turn on, and yes the input are left and right. I believe they did it that way so you run the preamp to the sub, and the sub to the amplifier powering the satellites/front speakers. I don't want to run it that way since I don't know how much the sub would degrade the signal to my Martin Logans (Not to mention the length of extra wire I would have to use) even though they say that there's no worries since it has a very high impedance. I'll probably run a splitter like I have in the past.

    Just always wondered about this, and Velodyne's manual never really covered the single sub output cable from a receiver/preamp.
     
  6. Lee Carbray

    Lee Carbray Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2002
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    0
    A splitter is not necassary, and it adds 2 more connection points. Now it is rare to have a problem with one but there is still the possibility.

    Like Seth said, unless you are having a problem with the sub not getting enough signal to turn it on, don't waste your money.
     
  7. Sidney

    Sidney Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was thinking that connecting to 1 of the inputs would be fine, but which one? Isn't left typically designated mono? I suppose I can experiment but haven't fully set up my sytem yet.. still in the building stages.
     
  8. Brian Fellmeth

    Brian Fellmeth Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2000
    Messages:
    792
    Likes Received:
    0
    They are the same. Take Lee's advice.
     

Share This Page