What's new

Stereo vs. AV Receiver (1 Viewer)

WheatStripes

Auditioning
Real Name
Kevin
Hey folks, I'd like to preface what follows by saying I'm new at home theater setups. With that in mind, I'm completely open to suggestion. Anyway, I'd like to set up a basic home theater/music listening setup. I've got a 50" plasma tv, an xbox, a cable box and a pair of BIC America DV62si Bookshelf Speakers but I'm lacking a receiver. I'd like to note that my focus for the audio equipment will be for music listening (I'd like to use my iPod and my computer to play and stream tracks), with a secondary objective being that I want to enhance my television, video game and DVD viewing. I've read a few sites and I've been led to believe that a stereo receiver (perhaps a Harmon Kardon 3490) would be ideal for a good music-listening experience but from what I've seen so far none of these receivers have HDMI inputs. I've read that AV receivers tend to not produce the best sound quality for music. What do you all recommend as far as a receiver goes with my needs in mind? Thanks in advance!

schan1269

HTF Expert
HW Reviewer
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Sam
Any HK(not the new 1700...although, maybe the bugs are worked out???) Or Onkyo. HK make serious power(the 2650/3650 would be a good choice...long in the tooth, but boy do they sound clean). Onkyo have "pure direct"(if you go high enough in the line) and anybody here that has an Onkyo with pure direct will tell you the same thing. No other receiver sounds better on 2 channel music. Caveat is...Yamaha and Pioneer/Elite have their version of "pure direct" as well...but their receivers with it are $200-$300 more(as in higher up the line) than where you'll find it in Onkyo. Current onkyo to look for...the 717(not sure if the 616 includes pure direct).

schan1269

HTF Expert
HW Reviewer
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Sam