1. Guest,
    If you need help getting to know Xenforo, please see our guide here. If you have feedback or questions, please post those here.
    Dismiss Notice

Spitting Satellite Signals???

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Scott_Sylke, Nov 11, 2002.

  1. Scott_Sylke

    Scott_Sylke Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2000
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    I need some advise. I have a triple LNB satellite. It has 4 coax outputs. I only have 2 of these cables going into the home. One going upsaits, the other downstairs.

    I just added a 3rd receiver today. My problem is that I can't put anymore holes in the house. So, I need to split the downstairs coax into 2 cables to go to two seperate sat receivers (one of them being an HDTV receiver).

    I discovered (the hard way) that you can't simply use a splitter because it divides the transponder signals.

    My question is, is it possible to get a multiswitch or something that will divide this one coax into two and get the same signal that the one was getting before being split(with all 3 sat's)???

    Your input will be greatly appreciated!!!!!!
     
  2. Reginald Trent

    Reginald Trent Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2000
    Messages:
    1,317
    Likes Received:
    0
    Not sure about the answer but if you don't get it answered here try www.dbsforums.com
     
  3. Robert_J

    Robert_J Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2000
    Messages:
    8,264
    Likes Received:
    46
    Location:
    Mississippi
    Real Name:
    Robert
    You can split sat signals if you "stack" them. That combines the left and right hand polarities on to the same coax at the same time. A stacker will run about $250+. You have to have a de-stacker at each receiver. Those are about $75 each. They will NOT work with a multi-sat dish like yours, they only work with the 18" dishes.

    It's never impossible to run more coax, just time consuming or really expensive.

    -Robert
     

Share This Page