What's new

Speakers for Denon 2809ci receiver? (1 Viewer)

timextp

Auditioning
Real Name
Ravi
Hi,

I am a novice trying to setup a home theater system for the first time. I've decided on the receiver after a lot of forum reading and deliberation - purchased a Denon 2809ci.

Now, I'm trying to choose a good (small) speaker package for this. Currently, these are in my consideration:

1. Harmon Kardon HKTS 18 5.1 system
2. Mirage Nanosat 5.1 system
3. Build a Definitive Technology Pro Cinema 800 from the following:
a. DT Promonitor 800 for front and rear
b. DT Promonitor 1000 CC for the center
c. DT Promonitor 1000 or a Supercube III for subwoofer

I've heard the Mirage and DT Pro Cinema 600 at a local best buy. I like the Mirage's sound quality but somehow prefer the more convectional directionality of DTs. ProCinema 600 wasn't nearly as good as the Mirage in terms of sound quality, so I'm considering the upgrade to PC800 with a possibly upgraded subwoofer.

I like the aesthetics of the Harmon Kardon speaker system and stands a lot and they seem to have very favorable reviews as well. However, I've not seen or heard them. Also, despite being almost the same price as the Mirages there's not a lot of discussion about them on the forums.

Could you please help me with your thoughts on this?

Thanks,
Ravi.

timextp

Auditioning
Real Name
Ravi
Hi,

I am a novice trying to setup a home theater system for the first time. I've decided on the receiver after a lot of forum reading and deliberation - purchased a Denon 2809ci.

Now, I'm trying to choose a good (small) speaker package for this. Currently, these are in my consideration:

1. Harmon Kardon HKTS 18 5.1 system
2. Mirage Nanosat 5.1 system
3. Build a Definitive Technology Pro Cinema 800 from the following:
a. DT Promonitor 800 for front and rear
b. DT Promonitor 1000 CC for the center
c. DT Promonitor 1000 or a Supercube III for subwoofer