1. Guest,
    If you need help getting to know Xenforo, please see our guide here. If you have feedback or questions, please post those here.
    Dismiss Notice

Sound from Toshiba 40G300U into Philips MX 5600D stereo

Discussion in 'Beginners, General Questions' started by haloslime, Jul 25, 2012.

  1. haloslime

    haloslime New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi all,
    I don't really know anything about home theaters--in fact, until a couple weeks ago when some of my co-workers got transferred abroad and were trying to get rid of their stuff I didn't have a TV at all.
    Now I am trying to get the TV sound to come out of the stereo. The TV looks like it only has Toslink out, but the stereo does not have Toslink in. No problem, I thought; I'll get a converter to switch it to the two red/white RCA cables. However, I'm not getting any sound out of this set-up.
    I'm pretty sure the RCA is plugged into the stereo right, because I can hear the sound when I tap the other end of the RCA cable. But I don't really know how to check if the problem is with the TV Toslink port, the Toslink cable, the converter box, or if the whole experiment is ill-fated for some other reason.
    Thanks for any help!
     
  2. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,041
    Likes Received:
    894
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
    Well...
    Did you turn the volume up on the TV? or...does it have a "fixed audio output"?
    In the sound menu you will see options for the digital output. If it "doesn't have any"...you simply turn the internal speakers off...and turn the volume up.
     
  3. haloslime

    haloslime New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    For "Optical Output Format" it has two options: PCM, and Dolby Digital. I tried both but neither seemed to work. How can I turn off the speakers on the TV?
    I got it to "seem to work" but the Toslink cable won't stay put in the Toslink->RCA adapter. I guess that means I have a bad adapter? I mean, I can't stand there and hold the connection in place all the time.
     
  4. Steve Tannehill

    Steve Tannehill Ambassador

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 1997
    Messages:
    5,550
    Likes Received:
    213
    Location:
    DFW
    Real Name:
    Steve Tannehill
    Welcome to HTF!
    I learn something new every day. I see that there are toslink to RCA converters like this one from Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Optical-Toslink-Coaxial-RCA-Converter/sim/B002HWZN4W/2 ,
    Now by toslink, you do mean the square port that emits light, and the optical cable (with square plugs) that transmits it?
    In my limited googling of the toslink/RCA adapter, it does say that you need to select linear PCM as output from your TV. Have you done that?
     
  5. haloslime

    haloslime New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    The Toslink cable is: http://www.amazon.com/AmazonBasics-Digital-Optical-Audio-Toslink/dp/B001TH7GSW/ref=sr_1_1?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1343356660&sr=1-1&keywords=amazonbasics+toslink
    The Adapter/converter is: http://www.amazon.com/SANOXY-Digital-Optical-Converter-Adapter/dp/B005DIRI6I/ref=pd_sxp_grid_pt_0_0
    I didn't have PCM, but it left me in the same position where it only works when I hold the cable in place. I guess I will try to rig it with a rubber band or something.
     
  6. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,041
    Likes Received:
    894
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
    This "tos-link" isn't like the RCA on the other side...
    It snaps in place. Just push till it clicks.
     

Share This Page