What's new

Sony Bravia LCD HDTV has black "splotch" on screen (1 Viewer)

kmuldrow

Auditioning
Real Name
Kyle Muldrow
Hi, everyone! I'm a newbie so be patient, OK? :)
I bought a Sony Bravia 46" 1080p LCD HDTV in October of 2009 from Costco (model#: KDL46VL160). Today when I turned it on, I noticed a black "splotch" on the screen that starts in the middle and blacks out and/or distorts the image all the way to the right side of the screen. A good friend of mine says he's afraid the LCD Panel is going bad. I've called Costco and Sony and they say I have to call a repair shop and since the warranty has expired, they will not cover any costs.
Can anyone here explain what happens when an LCD panel goes bad and what else I should do...besides never buy another TV from Costco and not buy a Sony again? :)

Jim Mcc

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Jim
I know you're pissed, but this can happen to any LCD TV. And why would you blame Costco? I think your friend is right. Can you post a pic? With the cost of new LCD TV's now, it's not worth repairing it.

kmuldrow

Auditioning
Real Name
Kyle Muldrow
Hi, Jim!
Well, what's helped my mood is the repair shop. When I called them, they asked if I used an American Express card to buy the TV. I said yes and was told that AMEX extends the warranty to a 3rd year, which means they will pay for all repairs or refund the cost of my TV. So I feel much better now.
I was wondering if that could happen to any LCD TV. I was wondering should my next one be an LED? I don't really want a Plasma set since I'm not a gamer. Also, I'm thinking of going with either a Toshiba or a Samsung as my next brand. Any suggestions?

Todd Erwin

Reviewer
HW Reviewer
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Todd Erwin
Actually, Kyle, I was going to recommend a Panasonic plasma. Samsung is a good choice, too.

kmuldrow

Auditioning
Real Name
Kyle Muldrow
Hi, Todd!