What's new

So, Aberdeen Maryland? (1 Viewer)

Sam Posten

Premium
HW Reviewer
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Sam Posten
As much as I've resisted it my job is moving to Maryland next month. And it seems like I may just go down there. Anyone from the area care to comment on things to look for as far as housing?

I'm solo and no kids so schools are not important.
I'd like to not be further from the base than a 30 minute commute (yes I know the traffic getting in and out is bad).
I'm considering buying a bigger home than I need and renting out portions to other BRAC refuges
I'd ideally like a second finished building that could be used as a photography studio. While I am not a pro I'd like to have a separate area which could be used as a side business in the future. How does MD handle businesses in residential areas?
I've heard about a $1400 tax on top of town, county and state taxes, what's that all about?
As dumb as this sounds, FIOS might be an incentive to pick one town over another. The buildout maps are a mess, any clues as to what towns are fully good to go there, and is it true you can just get FIOS internet, not TV?
Waterfront might be tempting if I could find the budget for it, but not critical.

Towns I'm considering in order:
BelAir
Edgewood
Havre de Grace
Abingdon
Joppa / Rising Sun / Churchville might be further out but still worth thinking about.

LDfan

Supporting Actor
Real Name
Jeffrey
Wow. Didn't think the BRAC migration was starting so soon. I'm in the Northern Va area but BRAC is huge around here since FT Belvoir is taking on a bunch of people. I'm not sure about your list of choices but I'll ask around to see what I can find out.

Jeff

Sam Posten

Premium
HW Reviewer
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Sam Posten