1. Guest,
    If you need help getting to know Xenforo, please see our guide here. If you have feedback or questions, please post those here.
    Dismiss Notice

Showing PCM on AMP when i have it set to DTS-HD

Discussion in 'AV Receivers' started by Roger Payne, Aug 3, 2013.

  1. Roger Payne

    Roger Payne New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello All,

    i have a new system that i just bought that is suppose to do DTS-HD however, whenever a play a movie i am seeing PCM on the amp. on the amp i can see lots of other icons like DTS, THX, DTS-HD but they dont light up so i need some assistance in what i have done wrong


    BluRay - Sony BDPS5100
    Receiver - Onkyo TX-SR313
    TV - LG 42" LED

    everything is using HDMi cables to the amp and HDMI from the AMP to the TV.

    The bluray player does not have a lot of settings for audio so i have them at defaults. the DVD i am testing with is the Eagles Farewell Tour 1 and shows PCM and DTS-HD as audio options in the settings of DVD. I have it set to DTS-HD.

    The AMP has a lot of settings so i have set the hdmi for the correct input.

    When the Eagles is playing i get audio and clicking on the sync button i see that its showing DTS-HD 5.5Mbps on the screen. if i change the audio to PCM the audio on the receiver cuts out for a sec but in all cases the amp shows PCM as the audio

    Update 1 ; I just tested with another bluray movie and the audio on the dvd is set to Dolby TrueHD and on the AMP I don't see the PCM symbol but rather the a RED D(assume it means Dolby digital)
    Update 2: I also tested a regular DVD that does DTS(not DTS-HD) and that shows as red DTS on the amp.
    It seems that just bluray DTS-HD that's my issue here...
     
  2. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,038
    Likes Received:
    894
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
    Set the BD player for bitstream and "secondary audio" off.

    That is the setting for every single BD player if you want the pretty AVR lights to light up.

    If you don't have bitstream set(secondary audio still has to be "off") then the BD player itself is doing the decoding...and the "pretty lights" on your AVR won't come on.

    Both ways to do it are 100% correct.

    Pretty lights on the AVR...set the BD player bitstream, simple, done.
     
  3. Roger Payne

    Roger Payne New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    On the Audio Settings from the Sony BluRay Player i have this(don't have bitstream)
    Digital Audio Out: Auto or PCM(Auto Default)
    DSD Output Mode: Off or ON(Off Default)
    BD Audio MIX Setting: On or Off(On Default)
    DTS Neo6: Off, Music, Cinema(Off Default)
    Audio DRC: Auto,on, Off(Auto Default)
    Downmix: Stereo or Surround(Stereo Default)
     
  4. Mark-P

    Mark-P Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Messages:
    2,890
    Likes Received:
    786
    Location:
    Camas, WA
    Real Name:
    Mark Probst
    I guess the new Sony models have dropped the option to force bitstream, so it's just auto or PCM? Auto meaning that the player is supposed to detect the receiver's decoding capabilities and choose accordingly. Since the Sony seems to think that your Onkyo can't decode DTS-HD Master Audio, it is switching to PCM. I think there must be a setting in the Onkyo receiver that needs tweaking so that the Sony will detect the correct capabilities and bitstream to the receiver.
     
  5. gene c

    gene c Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2003
    Messages:
    5,838
    Likes Received:
    46
    Location:
    Bay area, Ca
    Real Name:
    Gene
    Only other thing I can think of is to make sure speaker "B" is turned off.
     
  6. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,038
    Likes Received:
    894
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
    BD audio mix should be "off"...not the default "on"
    Downmix should be set on surround...not stereo.

    And even though it isn't relevant to whether bitstream works...set the DRC to off.

    I need to download a current Sony BD manual and read it. If those really are the only settings Sony has anymore...instead of the obvious ones they had every single year...before this year, I'm no longer going to recommend Sony BD players...cause those settings/choices are just assinine.
     
  7. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,038
    Likes Received:
    894
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
    Ok reading the manual now.

    Page 27. Where I said "Make sure your secondary audio is off". Right there on page 27...
    BD audio mix says "[Off]: Outputs the primary audio only.
    Select this to output HD audio signals to
    an AV amplifier (receiver)."

    Pretty much exactly what I already said. "Turn off secondary audio".

    Page 28. Downmix says "[Surround]: Outputs audio signals with
    surround effects. Select this when
    connecting an audio device that supports
    Dolby Surround (Pro Logic) or DTS
    Neo:6."

    And this is on page 34...
    "The HD Audio (Dolby Digital Plus,
    Dolby TrueHD, DTS-HD High
    Resolution Audio, and DTS-HD
    Master Audio) is not output by
    bitstream.
    , Set [BD Audio MIX Setting] in [Audio
    Settings] setup to [Off] (page 27).
    , Check that the connected AV amplifier
    (receiver) is compatible with each HD
    Audio format."
     
  8. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,038
    Likes Received:
    894
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
    By the way, now I understand the confusion with Sony BD players this year.

    Page 27 and 28 make zero mention of bitstream, none. The only place it mentions bitstream is in "additional information: trouble shooting" on page 34.

    Seriously?

    Hey Sony, thanks for a shitty OM.
     
  9. Roger Payne

    Roger Payne New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I confirmed that A is the only selection I had enables but re-tested to make sure... :(
     
  10. Roger Payne

    Roger Payne New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Perfect, its working now. thanks so much for your help guys. I was about to return this player for another one.

    BTW, lovin' my Wharfedale Dimond 10 speakers


    http://www.hometheaterforum.com +10
     
  11. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,038
    Likes Received:
    894
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
    Glad you reported back about the success.

    Have no idea why Sony went from an easy to understand "we've explained it this way for years" set up to their wording this year.

    Me saying...
    "Change it to bitsream"

    Is what this means...
    "Outputs the primary audio only. Select this to output HD audio signals to an AV amplifier"

    The "output HD audio signals" means "set bitstream".

    Thanks for the non-clarification...Sony.
     

Share This Page