What's new

Seperate processor, opinions..... (1 Viewer)

Thomas S

Auditioning
Hello everyone! I am new to this and would love some input. My system is a 5.1 Yamaha 795a reciever with DD and DTS. I use it to power a NAD 2600A power amp (150 wpc) for my two rear channels and I recently picked up an awesome Bryston 6B SST power amp (300 wpc) to power my front three channels. The new amp is really clean and even with my dated Polks things sound better even at lower levels. Now my new dilemma is to upgrade my processor. Looking to get a processor only as my amps power everything. What do people like in the $1000. to $1800. price range and what level of digital to analog conversion will that get me as I am quite certain my Yamaha could be better. Thanks to all for their input.

"Loud is beautiful if it is clean."

"Beauty is in the details."

Elinor

Supporting Actor
Currently on Audiogon: Meridian 565 7.1 Preamp/Processor for $1250; Unit is equipped with Dolby Digital, DTS, THX, Pro-Logic, Trifield and many more surround modes

THAT would do justice to a Bryston amp

Many other Meridian units in that range: older, but still DD/DTS/other modes.

A bit more money gets you more surround formats.

Ted Pugh

Stunt Coordinator
B&K Reference 50 S2 can be had pretty close to that price point. Retail is around $2400 but street is much less.

chung_sotheby

Supporting Actor
I would say that if you are lucky, and you don't mind buying used, the Anthem AVM-20 is the way to go. They average about $2k on the used market, and that is with the v2 upgrade (which is crucial). If you are looking at new products, the B&K is probably your best bet, although the Rotel 1068, Sherwood-Newcastle P-965, Nad T-163, or a mid-fi receiver could also suit your needs. But I highly recommend the Anthem, for construction, sound quality, and upgradeability.

Trevor L

Auditioning