What's new

Samsung? (1 Viewer)

Chris Svensson

Auditioning
I'm almost a complete noob here and this is my first post after having lurked for several months. I finally got up the courage to register and ask a question (ok, a few questions) of the fine folks here regarding some purchases I'm considering making relatively soon.

I'm about to relocate to San Diego but after I do, and I'm settled, I've had my eye on the new Samsung HLN617W (the 61" DLP RPTV). The pricetag would basically make it the single most expensive piece of electronics I've ever bought and I'd like to hear an opinion or two from someone who owns one before I commit. It just seems quite new and slightly unproven at this point and I'm a little scared to be a guinea pig.

After doing so, I'll surely upgrade to a new DVD player (possibly that new Samsung with the DVI inputs that upconverts to 1080i? anyone have any experience with it?) new receiver (leaning toward a mid-level Marantz?) that has at least two and hopefully four component input switches.

I tend to watch a lot of DVDs however I'm also in the videogame industry and as such, I tend to play quite a few videogames. Obviously my Xbox would permanently occupy one of the component inputs and I'd probably connect my PS2 as well for the few products that support 480p on it and those that are coming.

I bought the HD dish for DirectTV when I moved into my current house last year in anticipation of eventually getting an HDTV. Obviously, I'd need to get an HD tuner for it with the purchase to get use out of it.

On another note, I'm a Tivo fanatic and I'm still confused as to how/why/when we're going to see Tivo devices that have component outputs and proper digital signals? I think I saw a Pany DVD+R unit with a 120GB hd and Tivo service somewhere. I'd presume that has component outs? Does anyone Does it output a 480p signal for the Tivo functionalities? Anyone have any good experiences with it?