1. Guest,
    If you need help getting to know Xenforo, please see our guide here. If you have feedback or questions, please post those here.
    Dismiss Notice

RX-V775 HDMI audio out

Discussion in 'AV Receivers' started by taylorhoward, Aug 18, 2013.

  1. taylorhoward

    taylorhoward Auditioning

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Real Name:
    Taylor Howard
    Looking at getting a Yamaha RX-V775. Does anyone know if it is possible in the settings under "Audio Output" to have "Amp" set to On, and at the same time have "HDMI OUT 2" set to On?

    So the result would be that the speakers connected to the receiver wold be outputting sound and then the audio would also be going through to the TV connected to the HDMI 2 port.
     
  2. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,042
    Likes Received:
    894
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
  3. taylorhoward

    taylorhoward Auditioning

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Real Name:
    Taylor Howard
    I did download the owner's manual. I just wasn't 100% sure so I was wanting confirmation from someone who owned the receiver. On some Denon and Onkyo receivers I've looked at which have two HDMI outputs it states in those owner's manuals that when audio is output to HDMI, the speakers connected to the receiver will not work.

    I will have the receiver in the lounge connected to a TV and with a 5.1 setup. But I wanted the second HDMI port connected to the TV in the bedroom. The only audio output in the bedroom is the TV speakers and that is why I wanted audio over HDMI. Preferably without having to change a setting on the receiver each time I go from lounge to bedroom or vice versa (like you have to do with the Denon and Onkyo receivers).
     
  4. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,042
    Likes Received:
    894
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
    Do you understand B vs 2?

    B is the same thing played in both rooms. Whatever is exiting via B has no relation(audio wise) to the 5.1. (there is a diagram on the Yamaha tech page showing the 5.1 and Zone B active at the same time)

    Same with 2. With two they are totally independent endeavors with nothing to do with each other.

    And this setting you refer to in Denon and Onkyo(which model numbers?) is probably on the AVR that have just a 2nd HDMI output.

    Just a 2nd HDMI is not HDMI Zone B is not HDMI Zone 2(Pioneer/Elite calls it HDMI Zone 4, along with one of the Denon).
     
  5. taylorhoward

    taylorhoward Auditioning

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Real Name:
    Taylor Howard
    Yes I understand the difference. So what I want to do is possible.

    I was referring to the Onkyo TX-NR616AE and Denon X3000 & X4000.
     
  6. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,042
    Likes Received:
    894
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
    The NR616 does not have Zone B or Zone 2 HDMI. So, yes, you'd have to do things with it you wouldn't have to do with the 775. The first Onkyo with Zone 2(eliminating your entire problem) is the 929.

    With the two Denon...They both have Zone 2 HDMI, so I have no idea where you get you'd have to mess with the audio in the main zone while using Zone 2 HDMI.
     
  7. taylorhoward

    taylorhoward Auditioning

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Real Name:
    Taylor Howard
    Okay thanks I'll have a look at the 929.

    For the Denon I got it from the user manual (page 144 for the X3000). Under "HDMI audio out". The options are either "AVR" or "TV". But you are saying that you apply this separately for each HDMI output? Or that if this is set to "AVR" that the audio will still pass through to the Zone 2 HDMI anyway because the Zone 2 HDMI is not affected by this setting and will always have the audio passed through?
     
  8. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,042
    Likes Received:
    894
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
    Correct. Zone 2 HDMI settings have no bearing on the main Zone.I downloaded the X3000 manual and that is what it states. However...It doesn't say what happens if main and Zone 2 are on the same source. At worst, you'd have to run DPL instead of DD, DTS-HD or D-THD.But an outboard HDMI matrix, the outputs have no bearing with each other. That is all "HDMI zoning" has done...added a matrix to the AVR.
     
  9. ChromeJob

    ChromeJob Second Unit
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2014
    Messages:
    319
    Likes Received:
    91
    Location:
    Durham, NC
    Real Name:
    David S.
    For those who find this thread ... the answer is YES. With Network Standby enabled, and "pass-through" enabled (allows source switching even when the AMP is in standby), audio from an HDMI IN device or other source is passed to the TV on HDMI OUT 1. (I presume it works the same with HDMI OUT 2.)

    I haven't tested if it does both, as I have HDMI CONTROL enabled, so the AVR puts the Samsung TV's SPDIF into "External."
     

Share This Page