What's new

RF remote help. (1 Viewer)

j_mcanalley

Auditioning
Real Name
josh
im new to the hobby. this is my second thread trying to get help setting up my home theater exactly how i want it. thanks for all the help on the first thread (speaker placement)

i am putting all my components in the closet to clean up the look of my living room. so far everything is great. i have a small ir sensor running to the front of my tv for my cable box. but i just added surround sound. the surround sound receiver does not have an ir input like the cable box so i cant hook it up the same way. im also tired of using several remotes.

i am looking into the real nice RF remotes with LCD display. to my understanding the rf remote will transmit through my closet door which is great. i wont have to use the ir sensors anymore.

my question is what is the best way to make the rf remote work with ir components. i assume that the rf remote will have some sort of receiver, am i correct? also does that receiver convert the rf signal to ir? if it does will it distribute that signal wireless or will it have ir sensor wires? if they have ir sensor wires do they plug into the component or do they make them that cover the ir sensor on the component on the front?

also if somone has a favorite remote they really like let me know.

its really important to me that my components are hidden and everything works well. i am already well into this project and there is no turning back now.

any help would be great.

p.s. i will be in hawaii for the next week and a half so i wont be able to respond to your comments for a while. but i look foward to reading them all when i get back.

thanks alot
josh

Wayne A. Pflughaupt

Premium
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Wayne
Hi Josh,

An RF remote works with a receiver that converts the signal back to IR. The receiver needs to be put in front of the components, and far enough away from the equipment rack so that everything responds to commands from the remote..