What's new

Review of Rocket RS750s from a complete non-audiophile (LONG). (1 Viewer)

Alex_C

Stunt Coordinator
I thought I’d take some time to share my experience searching for speakers and tell you how the journey ended with a pair of Onix Rocket 750 Sigs. Please keep in mind that I’m no audiophile and I don’t qualify as an expert in anything related to music or audio. I’ve been listening to and enjoying music and stereos for many years but I lack the technical knowledge and experience to objectively review a speaker and, until recently, I lacked the funds to even listen to good speakers. I’m just sharing my thoughts, misguided as they may be. I currently listen to music through a 15 year old Onkyo receiver and CD player with equally as old Bose 301 bookshelf speakers. Yes, Bose. Stop laughing. C’mon seriously.

I should also start by saying, “My name is Alex and I’m a researchaholic.” I have this problem. Before I purchase anything of value I research it to death. Yea, that sounds like it could be a good thing but I will actually become obsessed with the research until I’ve found the absolute best product for the best price for me. Purchasing speakers was no exception. For the last two weeks I’ve been staying up late absorbing everything I can find (and understand) about speakers in my price range ($1,000). You’ve probably seen my posts on multiple forums where I struggle with even the most elementary audio terms. I’ve read hundreds of posts, dozens of articles and badgered quite a few salesmen . . er. . salespersons. I’ve learned a lot and now I probably know just enough to make me dangerous.