What's new

Removing NORTON AV and going to...? (1 Viewer)

todbnla

Screenwriter
Real Name
Todd
My current Norton AV subs runs out shortly. I think most would agree and say their may be better alternatives out there so my question is two fold:

First; How do I remove the entire Norton package?

Second; What is the best AV protection out there currently?

Running a Dell with Win Home XP...

Lee Scoggins

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Lee
I and PC Magazine have found that Norton Internet Security Suite is the best overall security package to have. I have been using the 2005 version for almost 2 months and love it.

McAfee is terrible and I don't like the user interfaces of others.

Answers to questions:

1. Use Add/Remove Programs function on Control Panel
2. PC Magazine rates Norton as still the best-it usually wins. I have found no integration issues with SP2 so far.

SethH

Senior HTF Member
If I were you I would just use the free AVG antivirus. It is a very good AV program. I currently use Norton because I get it for free through my university. However, I have AVG running on my parent's computer and both of my sisters' computers and I think it's a great program.

Marc Colella

Senior HTF Member
I also recommend AVG.

It may be free, but it works as well (or better) than retail AV software.

Bob Graz

Supporting Actor
You'll find a number of threads on this subject. I ditched Norton 9 months or so ago for AVG and have been very satisfied. Recently AVG upgraded their free AV program to make it even better. My father is now running AVG on his laptop and desktop as well. AVG provides very frequent virus updates and is not as intrusive as Norton. Certainly each of the various AV programs have their pluses and minuses, supporters and detractors. I'll keep my free AVG, combined with free Ad-aware and Spybot. I find that, along with keeping MS updates current, and Mozilla to be all I need.