1. Guest,
    If you need help getting to know Xenforo, please see our guide here. If you have feedback or questions, please post those here.
    Dismiss Notice

Recommendation of 8 port router or switch?

Discussion in 'Computers' started by DaveF, Jan 11, 2013.

  1. DaveF

    DaveF Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2001
    Messages:
    16,605
    Likes Received:
    1,152
    Location:
    One Loudoun, Ashburn, VA
    Real Name:
    David Fischer
    I need at least five ports (plus a WAN connection to connect to the Fios router) to connect the five Ethernet ports used in my house. Are there any practical differences between gigabit switches? I'm also a perplexed by the lack of WAN port. I've got a cheap switch in the living room. It's four port, with a separate fifth wan port. But looking at newegg, the 8-port switches don't have a separate uplink port, which means they're really 7port switches...or they won't connect my system to the Internet? Are there any 8 port switches with 9th uplink input (affordable for home use)?
     
  2. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,037
    Likes Received:
    894
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
    You can "stack" switches. I use the Netgear FS605. My living room ethernet runs in into the FS605, runs out to the TV/Directv/BD and another cable runs to the kitchen to another FS605, which runs into a ADT network hub and a DVR.
     
  3. DaveF

    DaveF Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2001
    Messages:
    16,605
    Likes Received:
    1,152
    Location:
    One Loudoun, Ashburn, VA
    Real Name:
    David Fischer
    In fact, I have to, because one of those five goes to the living room, which has that small switch for TiVo, Xbox, and blu ray. I'd rather have an 8 port in the basement junction box, rather than stacking a pair of 4 ports, because I'd then need to put a power strip in as well. But if that's the only practical solution, it's a good idea.
     
  4. DaveF

    DaveF Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2001
    Messages:
    16,605
    Likes Received:
    1,152
    Location:
    One Loudoun, Ashburn, VA
    Real Name:
    David Fischer
    Probably buy this one, $30 at NewEgg http://www.trendnet.com/products/proddetail.asp?prod=515_TEG-S80G And replacing my 2007 Apple AEBS with a new, non-Apple wireless router. Hoping that will fix the erratic wifi performance I've had for a while. http://www.asus.com/Networks/Wireless_Routers/RTN66U/
     
  5. Stan

    Stan Premium
    Supporter

    Joined:
    May 18, 1999
    Messages:
    2,508
    Likes Received:
    152
    Stupid question, especially having worked in IT for 20+ years, but what is exactly the differece between a router and a switch? I hired a lot of vendors to do the major install/wiring work and honestly don't know the difference. I figure we're all allowed one stupid question per year, so I'm using mine up fairly early.
     
  6. DaveF

    DaveF Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2001
    Messages:
    16,605
    Likes Received:
    1,152
    Location:
    One Loudoun, Ashburn, VA
    Real Name:
    David Fischer
    Switch can create a local network. A router does that, and also can connect that network to see the Internet. My switch will have to be connected to the Fios modem/router, so my LAN has Internet access. I hope that is both correct and clear.
     
  7. DaveF

    DaveF Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2001
    Messages:
    16,605
    Likes Received:
    1,152
    Location:
    One Loudoun, Ashburn, VA
    Real Name:
    David Fischer
    After some searching and confusion, first did a file copy to test network speed. That's easy but only gives about 50% performance at best.
    http://www.macworld.co.uk/macsoftware/masterclass/?articleid=414
    A few hours more of confused googling and false starts, I found jperf.app
    http://jesterpm.net/downloads
    That shows a respectable 850 - 900 Mbps on the shortest LAN route in my house. I'll test all the house connections later.
     

Share This Page